Fun in the mail

Lexie Barnes Minis

Look at these lovely Lexie Barnes minis I got in the mail!  I found them on sale at her website and couldn’t resist.  The skulls (Hermosa print) satisfy my inner rock chick, while the Makiko print speaks to the sweet side of me.  I really spent an ungodly amount on these little cuties, even with the discount, but can you ever have enough knitting supplies and knitting accessories to go with your piles of yarn?  Please.  It’s a necessity! 

Since R. Darling is out of town for the next few days, not only do I have complete control over the remote (shocking!), but I also have oodles of knitting time since I don’t have to cook!  I joined the Fitted Knits Along this week (my first KAL – I’m so freaking excited! Thanks so much to Robin for letting me join) and had time today to go out and get my book.  I do believe the plastic is melting on my visa too since I already purchased the yarn I’m going to use to make my sweater choice.  At least it was cheap.  And, of course (no surprise here), it’s pink!  I’ll probably post about it on the KAL site later.

In other knitting/crocheting news, I have finished the pound of love afghan for my

pol afghan finished

friend (pictured here – folded in quarters) and have had nothing but frustration with the Debbie Bliss baby hat.  My stitch count seems constantly off despite the fact that I count and recount (and recount) like a demon and no dice.  I’m a particular knitter.  One of those annoying ones that have to do everything by the book, so this frustrates me to no end.  I frogged the 8 rows or so I’d finished and set it aside for a time when I’m feeling a little more zen.  I’m also working on a swatch for my knitting class that I went to on Thursday night.  We’re going to make a fair-isle hat which will be cool.  I printed out some graph paper here and am going to make my own patterns.  The squares and x’s the instructor gave us just didn’t seem snazzy enough for me.  I’m going to try to graph some hearts instead.  I’ll post the swatch next time if it looks decent.

More fun in the mail to come!  Have a great weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “Fun in the mail

  1. Love the Lexie Barnes minis – so cute!
    Thanks for the graph paper link. I know I also heard there is a graph paper in Excel format out on the web somewhere. I’d rather do my graphs on the computer than freehand so I’m going to look for that for designing my DH’s new “Harley” themed sweater.

  2. A Harley sweater – awesome! I can’t wait to see it once you’ve knit it up :) I wish I could get R. Darling to wear sweaters, but it’s totally not his thing. I have heard about the graph paper in Excel before too, but not sure where I saw it. I’ll let you know if I find it again. Maybe this link would help though: http://www.microrevolt.org/knitPro.htm
    It’s a free site that will generate charts for you from your image files. I found it on someone else’s blog and tried it out, though I didn’t actually knit from the chart it generated. Let me know if it works for you. Oh and I saw your SKC post about your Eiffel… it turned out beautiful and looks great on you! Chocolate brown is one of my very favorite colors right now :)

Leave a Reply

