My Sweet Escape

Gwen Album cover

Gwenny Gwen Gwen’s new album
(cover image from amazon.com)

“The Sweet Escape” has been one of my favorite songs since I bought Gwen Stefani’s new album in December. Of course, it’s on the radio constantly right now and she performed it last week on American Idol, but I like to think I “discovered” it before it was cool. I’m pretty sure I get what the song is supposed to be about, but when I listen to it, the sound, the words, they speak to me in a totally different way. Listen to these lines:

….if I could escape and recreate a place that’s my own world
and I could be your favorite girl (forever) perfectly together
tell me boy now wouldn’t that be sweet?……

When I listen to “The Sweet Escape”, what I hear isn’t about how someone else is treating me or how I’m treating them, but how I’m treating me. I’ve come to realize in the past few months, that I don’t take very good care of myself. I’m always too worried about everyone else; making sure they’re happy, doing what I think they expect of me. Somewhere along the way I lost myself. I lost that girl who cared about painting her nails, who bought herself pretty undergarments, that saucy girl who wasn’t afraid to show off a few of her assets, and laughed a lot. And in her place appeared someone older, someone frumpy, a girl who worries too much. I don’t like this new girl. She looks old in the mirror and feels out of place wherever she goes. She frets too much over silly things and forgets that she’s still pretty young and someday when she’s a lot older, she’ll wish she’d enjoyed this time in her life. And if she could recreate that place within her heart where she used to live, bring back the girl she used to be, then she’d be R. Darling’s favorite girl forever, perfectly together, and wouldn’t that be so sweet?

I think this calls for a visit to the spa….

One thought on “My Sweet Escape

  1. I haven’t heard the song, but I like the way you related it to how you’re feeling lately. What do you think caused you to feel that way? I think a trip to the spa is definitely a step in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

