Photo Friday – April 20, 2007

bridesmaidhearts2

Me hamming it up as a bridesmaid in a friend’s wedding – February 2002

If you had to choose just one photo that you could use to describe yourself completely, this would be my photo.  I mean, when there’s heart shaped confetti all over the table, how can they expect me to resist sticking it to my face?

Now that it’s about the time when a lot of gals are just about to become new brides (we’re actually going to a wedding reception next weekend) I started thinking about how many times I’ve been a bridesmaid.  Three times!  And three years apart for each (kind of a creepy coincidence).  If popular idioms were actually correct, i.e. “Always a bridesmaid, never a bride”, I shouldn’t even be married right now.  I’ve never even caught the bouquet!  The fact that I fought my way to the back of every clamoring girl-crowd is besides the point.  Anyway, in the spirit of the marriage season, the next few photos of the week will consist of me in my three different bridesmaid’s getups.  Just for fun.  Because, actually, I’ve been pretty lucky in that department.  Only one hideous number and even that one wasn’t too bad.  Stay tuned – I’ll post it next week!

BTW: This one was a dark blue tea length dress that was actually very pretty.  A sort of floaty, chiffony number.  But I didn’t think I’d ever wear it again so I gave it to a young friend of my parent’s who used it as a prom dress.  She could never have afforded a fancy dress with what her family earns, and she was ecstatic to have it.  It made me feel warm and fuzzy inside to make someone else so happy :)

One thought on “Photo Friday – April 20, 2007

Leave a Reply

