Photo Friday – May 11, 2007

bridesmaid96

January 6, 1996 – Me dancing with the Best Man (who is not my husband BTW)
First time bridesmaid and maid-of-honor at my best friend’s wedding

As promised, here is the last photo in my bridesmaid themed set of Photo Fridays.  This is actually the best photo I have of my outfit.  My best friend’s wedding, and my best bridesmaid’s outfit and this is the best I can do.  Well, the wedding day is all about the bride and I didn’t own a camera back in my poor just-out-of-college days.  I actually still have this outfit hanging in my closet.  My best friend was living back east at the time and I was here out west, so we had to guess at the sizing and she had it shipped to me.  One of the other bridesmaids went shopping with her and chose the outfits from an upscale department store, the kind of which they only have back east.  It makes me sad to this day that I couldn’t be there to do all those special wedding planning things with her.  As the maid-of-honor, I had a champagne colored outfit and the other girls wore the same outfit, but in black.  This was back before it was “in” to wear black at weddings, but that’s my best friend for you – always cool when it came to fashion.  She wanted us all to be able to wear these again and this is the one time where I think that might have been possible.  It’s too bad I don’t have a better photo, because these were really pretty.  It was a 2-piece pantsuit with the top being an asian-inspired tunic with a mandarin collar, deep slits at the sides (where the wide-legged pants would show through) and frog closures, all done in a satin material with a jacquard sort of floral pattern on part of the tunic.  I can’t say that I’ve ever worn it again, but it reminds me of a special day and a special person and I think it will always remain there in my closet so I can look at it now and then and relive a happy memory. 

One thought on “Photo Friday – May 11, 2007

Leave a Reply

