Seven Random Facts

Robin tagged me for this meme yesterday. It’s my first one, so this is kind of exciting for me!!

The Rules
The way it works is – each person tagged gives seven random facts about themselves along with the rules of the game, as well as tagging seven others by listing their names as part of the blog post and leaving a blog comment for the tagged individuals to let them know that they’ve been tagged.

So here’s my random facts:

  1. I have never smoked a cigarette. Ever. Not a single puff. Not even in my wild college days. Never even wanted to give it a try. You’d think that having 2 parents who smoked (thoughtfully, they always smoked outside) would have set me up for at least a little curiosity, but for some reason it really didn’t.

  2. Some of you who have read my blog before may know this fact, but it’s still kind of interesting to those who might be “new”. My husband and I went to first grade together and later on high school, but didn’t get together until our ten year high school reunion. You can read my previous post about it here. It’s still so weird to me to think I married someone I went to high school with! But I’m so glad I did :)

  3. I might be a twin. I was adopted when I was 4 1/2 (which is a random fact in itself I guess) and my adoptive parents have always been under the impression that I had a twin brother. I was born out of the country (another random fact) and they think he was left behind with my biological mother’s family. Sometimes it feels weird to think that there are people out there that I’ll never know who might look like me, think like me, or even act like me. I know I’ve got a real family here who loves me, but sometimes I still feel wistful about the holes in my past.

  4. I’m mildly obsessive-compulsive. And I don’t mean in that cute way that people describe Type A personalities. I’ve never been diagnosed, but my daily life has always contained rituals that I feel must be performed or else I get a deep and distinct sense of foreboding. I read once that obsessive-compulsive people feel this way but to such an extreme that they often can’t function normally.  For me it’s never been too much of an issue, and for some reason the need to do certain things has lessened as I’ve gotten older.  I know – I’m a freak!

  5. I can wiggle my ears.  I don’t really remember “teaching” myself to do this.  But I guess when you’re an only child you find your entertainment where you can!

  6. I have an extra tooth.  When I had to get my wisdom teeth taken out they took a bunch of x-rays and discovered that I had an extra tiny tooth up near my sinus.  They told me they didn’t want to take it out for fear of damaging my sinus, so they’d just let it descend or not, and deal with it later.  I’ve been to a few different dentists since then as I’ve moved around, and after they take the films the first thing they always exclaim is, “Oh!  Look at that cute little tooth!”.  I feel kind of special.

  7. I never went to my high school prom.  I went bowling with some friends.  At the time I tried to tell myself that I didn’t want to go, that the whole thing was lame, and that I didn’t care anyway.  But it was a lie.  To this day I regret not finding some way to go.  I could have gone with my girlfriends even!  Lots of girls do that nowadays.  I know a lot of people who went will say it isn’t worth regretting, that I didn’t miss out on anything, but I still feel like I did.  High school wasn’t fun for me.  No dates, few friends, too much studying.  Oh well.  I guess I’ve made up for it since then!  I’ve had a few good adventures along the way….. 

 So here’s the part where I pass it along!  Tag, you’re it….

R. Darling

Yarnaholic

Lady Morgiana

Pen

The Sewing Geek

Stephanie

Jodi

4 thoughts on “Seven Random Facts

  1. Hi Maryanne,
    thanks for tagging me :D I will post later on today. Well to be honest I am not really from Switzerland, I do live here, but I am originally from Poland. (does it make any sense?)I hope that your surgery went well and that everything is well at yours! Hope to hear from you soon!
    Have a lovely day!
    Kasia

  2. Hi Maryanne,
    (I am not sure if this comment isn’t submitted double way :( )
    thanks for tagging me! I will blog about it later on today, first I need some coffein in my system ;) To be honest I am not really from Switzerland, I live here but I always define myself as Polish. I like Switzerland, I like their weird dialect (which I even speak) but my heart belongs to Poland.
    I hope that your surgery will go well and that everything is well with you!
    Have a lovely day
    Kasia

  3. Very interesting responses!! You haven’t missed anything with the cigarettes OR the prom. Seriously. I think OCD is more common than we realize – I know someone who had it but you’d never know. Some of the things he would tell me he thought about though, were totally interesting. Hmm. On the tooth thing, I have three of my baby teeth (as did my grandma until she passed away in her late 80s). I had four, but one had to be replaced with a dental implant about five years ago. Crazy huh?

  4. You are SUCH an interesting person! NEVER smoked a cigarette??? With two smoking parents??? Amazing! And FANTASTIC!!! All the other stuff is cool too (wiggling ears, extra tooth, mild OCD). I’ll have to wrack my brain for this one but will try to post soon.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon and are able to leap tall buildings with a single bound (and all that jazz).

Leave a Reply

