Check it! I’m Knittin’ Socks!

firstsocks52607

Oh crap.  Just what I needed – yet another reason to spend entirely too much time knitting, thinking about knitting, and buying yarn.  But look how cute!  I think I finally get why everyone’s so seemingly obsessed with sock knitting all of a sudden.

This is the On-Your-Toes toe-up sock pattern from this summer’s issue of IK.  After getting that yummy sock yarn from Jeanie I kept going back and forth about which pattern to try.  I wasn’t sure this would be a good one for a beginner (’cause it has a crazy looking cast-on) but the super-helpful Wendee who posted about her toe-up socks over at the Interweave Knits Knit-Along assured me that it was easy enough for a beginner to attempt.  I figured what the hell.  I’m not doing anything but laundry and sitting on my fat butt and gimpy knee on the couch anyway, why not give it a shot?  Expand my horizons and all that good stuff.

The Eastern cast-on is super fussy but, magically, it only took me 3 tries to figure it out.  Not sure what’s going on there.  I don’t think I’ll be able to duplicate that little bit of trickery for the next sock so easily, but if I did it once, I’ll be able to do it again (I hope).  It looks gorgeous even if I perhaps didn’t do it exactly right.  Who cares as long as it looks nice and doesn’t fall apart, right?  I won’t tell if you don’t.  Now the increases are done and it’s smooth sailing up to the heel.  I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.  I’m also noticing some groovy lopsided color action working up on the top of my sock in the ribbing portion.  Me likey!

3 thoughts on “Check it! I’m Knittin’ Socks!

  1. Socks are great and all, but what about the wonderful sock monkeys you make. Gotta love the cute little monkeys.

  2. Hey – super job! I’m so glad you gave it a shot. Not so bad, huh?! Those are going to be perfect summer socks – I love the colors. I’m such a sucker – I’ve already cast on for a different pair. Ok, yeah, well I haven’t finished the first pair. (I mean sock), but I couldn’t wait to try that cast on again. And you know what? It was even easier now that I’ve go the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

