June Randomness

So if you were hoping for some clever dialogue, I suggest you just pass right on by my post today.  I’m tired.  It’s been a long week.  I got nuthin’.  Sorry bloggy peeps.  But here’s something I do have.  An FO!  (Yeah I know.  It’s some kind of freakin’ miracle!)  Mr. Monkey is again doing the honors for me.  Because really, you just can’t go wrong if you put a monkey in your photo!

pinkpol062707

This is like the 6th Lion Brand’s Pound of Love baby afghan I’ve crocheted.  But believe it or not, this is the very first pink one I’ve ever made.  Though I like this color, I find that I actually prefer white the best.  Besides, I figure when the baby barfs on it you can always bleach it out!

I’ve also been working on the lovely Lelah top from the Knitting For Boozehags site.  I was inspired by my sweet knitty e-friend Kasia, who recently finished a gorgeous red Lelah and has been generously assisting me with the somewhat sketchy directions.  I’m knitting it in K1C2’s Angora Soft (the same yarn I used for Rusted Root) in a really pretty chocolate brown color.  I’m really liking the lace pattern so far and I hope that mine will look at least half as nice as Kasia’s when I’m done.  This is what I had after 5 lace repeats (I’m a bit farther along now, but didn’t bother to take another pic – Yep.  I’m lazy.).

lelah5rpt062707

In other exciting news – well, exciting for me – I’m taking a 3-day Intensive Beginning Jewelry Making class Saturday through Monday at a local studio called Pouncing Rain.  I’m really excited about this!  I’ll learn all kinds of metalsmithing techniques and hopefully come away with the skills to make a piece of jewelry, something I’ve always wanted to learn.  I’m also taking a class Thursday night to learn how to make my own findings (clasps, earring hooks, etc.).  I just hope they’ve got fire insurance because acetylene torches and me, well, let’s just say there’s a chance we might not hit it off.

4 thoughts on “June Randomness

  1. Maryanne, the new baby blankie is so cute! Very pinky and girly, I am sure that the recipent will love it! Your Lelah looks fab so far and I am sure that it will be more than adorable when you’re done! I can’t wait to see it done! Mine green one is getting there, but I hate this think stockinette which take forever ;)
    I am so thrilled for you because of this class! I am sure that you would have a glorious time… and if you burn sth… viola! they will surely remember you :D

  2. Pingback: Morgiana’s Manifesto Shop Shout Out « Knittymuggins

Leave a Reply

