Booty!

 yarns062907
Methinks there’s a bit of a theme here…..

Yesterday, on a whim, I decided to stop by one of the LYS’s that I don’t normally go to.  It’s not that it’s not a nice LYS, it’s just kind of out of my way and I always sort of forget that it’s there.  Apparently there’s so much competition in this town, 4 other LYS’s besides this one (Where are the knitters?  Where?  Why have I never seen one?), that the poor gal who owns it is having to shut it down!  There were signs all over the shop announcing a retirement sale and when I found out what the deal was, I was supremely saddened for the owner even though I don’t know her personally.  How terrible would it be, to recognize your lifelong dream of owning your own yarn shop, only to have to close it down because you couldn’t make it work?  Note to self: Find new dream job. 

Sad as I was, the shopper in me could smell a deal and it didn’t exactly make me feel upset to take advantage of the 25% off on everything in the whole store.  I did feel a pang of guilt though.  A small pang. And then a burning flame in my hand as I passed over that plastic to the salesgirl.  My poor visa is going to melt any second after all the action it’s seen lately!  And you can bet it’s going to see some more action before August when the shop closes….. 

The booty specifics:

araucaniawool062907
(click on thumbnail for larger image)
8 skeins of Araucania Nature Wool in color #42 – a pretty, subtly variegated, rosy pink

redlouetgems062907
(click on thumbnail for larger image)
2 skeins of Louet Gems sock yarn in Cherry Red

pinkartyarnssupermerino062907
(click on thumbnail for larger image)
4 skeins Artyarns Supermerino in color #115 Reds

artyarnsultramerino062907
(click on thumbnail for larger image)
2 skeins Artyarns Ultramerino 6 color # 111

Plus, the new Knitscene Magazine and 3 pairs of 24″ bamboo circular needles sizes 7, 8 & 9

Yeah.  I went a little nuts.

4 thoughts on “Booty!

  1. Oh geez. Yes, it is a sad day when a yarn store closes. It’s definitely not a business for the faint of heart – at least until you get established. 4 stores in Bellingham does seem like a lot…

    But wow – looks like you did some Project Spectrum coloring in your purchases!

  2. I am sorry for this poor gal, it must be crushing! But I am so thrilled for you! All your purchases looks stunning! You indeed hunted well :D Is the red yarn for the Puff from “Fitted Knits”? I love this colour, it will look gorgeous on you!

Leave a Reply

