Da Da Da! Sock It To Me Sock Swap Questionnaire

sockprogress062707
A picture of my current SIP (Sock In Progress)!

1.  What are your foot measurements? (Please give shoe size, length and circumference.)

I wear a size 8-8.5 shoe; my foot length is 9.5 inches, and my foot circumference is 9 inches.

2.  How long have you been knitting? How would you rate your experience? (Beginner,
      Intermediate or Advanced.)

I’ve been knitting since about February 2006. I still feel very much like a beginner, but I’ve done some semi-adventurous things for a beginner: cables, dpn’s, lace, socks (toe-up), and maybe a few other things I’m forgetting right now. So I guess I’d be Intermediate?

3.  What is your favorite color? Your least favorite color?

Pink! More Pink!  Did I mention I like Pink?  I also love chocolate brown and I adore pink and brown together as well as red and pink together.  Colors I don’t like: Anything “muddy” like olive green, mustard-y yellow, and maroons or burgundy.  Other than that, I’m pretty easy :) 

4.  Do you have a favorite fiber? What type?

Hmm.  Not really.  I do like wool and alpaca and I’m very intrigued by bamboo and soy, as well as those fibers blended with wool.

5.  Do you have any allergies to certain fibers?

Not that I know of, though I do find I’m extremely sensitive to 100% wool, in sweater form.  It’s fine for my feets though!

6.  Do you have an Amazon, or other type of, wishlist? (If so, provide the link.)

Yep!  Here’s the Amazon one…..   My Amazon.com Wish List   I also have one at Jimmy Bean’s Wool if you search with my e-mail address: knittymuggins(at)yahoo(dot)com .  But please don’t feel obligated to get anything from either one!

7.  What techniques, if any, would you like to learn?

I’ve experimented with Intarsia a little and would like to get better at that, also Stranded Colorwork like you would use to knit Fair-Isles.  I’d also like to try knitting with beads.  The finished product always looks so beautiful!  I’m still a bit of a knitiot though, so it may be a while…..

8.  Do you have a sweet tooth? What are your favorite snacks?

Oh man will my husband ever laugh when he sees this question!  I have a huge sweet tooth and he is always teasing me about it :)  I’m pretty easy to please – I like almost everything! Some of my favorites:  Sour Patch kids, Good and Plenty, Swedish fish, Jelly Bellies…..  pretty much anything chewy and anything sour too.  As far as chocolate, I love dark chocolate and I love caramel too.  Wow, I think I drooled a little on myself just talking about it!

9.  What is your family situation? (Children, Husband, Pets…etc.)

One perfectly wonderful husband, two poochies and no kids, in a cozy little house in the town that we call home.  Although just the other day I was commenting on how we’d been together almost 6 years total (almost 3 years married) and R. Darling (my husband) said, “Yeah, isn’t it about time we pounded out a munchkin?”  As you can see, he’s more than ready to add to our family :)

10.  Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Metal, plastic or wood?

I knit in the round if at all possible so I guess I’d say circulars, though I don’t mind knitting straight things on straight needles.  I rather prefer it actually.  I can’t stand metal needles and though I have a set of Denise Interchangeable needles in plastic, I’m not too fond of plastic either.  I have never tried any woods other than bamboo, but in my book bamboo makes pretty kick ass needles, so why bother?

11.   Besides socks, what are your favorite items to knit?

I really enjoy knitting things for other people actually.  I love to knit gifts for my friends and family and I also love to knit for charity.  My favorite one is Warm Woolies.  They collect knitted hats, mittens, vests and other items for children in orphanages in Russia and Mongolia as well as poor children on Native American Reservations in the U.S.. As far as types of items I like to knit besides socks, well, pretty much anything I can get my hands on!  There’s so many things to try and so little knitting time……

12.   Is there a pattern, (sock or otherwise), that you are dying to try?

Hmmmm.  Probably the only one I’m really dying to knit right now would be those super fab Monkey Socks from Knitty that everyone’s been knitting up lately.  Anything with the word “monkey” in it has to be pretty dope!

13.  Do you like to read? What are you reading currently?

I l-o-v-e to read, though it’s a bit difficult to choose between that and knitting!  Right now I’m reading “Autobiography of a Fat Bride” by Laurie Notaro.  I haven’t been a bride for a long time now, but she’s still highly entertaining!  Does anyone really have a life that’s that messed up?  Hard to believe.   I also love anything by Amy Tan and Alice Hoffman, and I read the first book in the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon and I cannot wait to have the time to read the rest.  Oh, and of course, I am simply beside myself with excitement, waiting for the 7th Harry Potter to arrive at my door (because I pre-ordered it on Amazon of course!).

 14.  Do you collect music? (On an iPod or MP3 player.)

I don’t really “collect” it per se, but I do have an ipod (I am obscenely spoiled by my husband!) and I’ve managed to get some of my collection onto it.

15.  What kind of music do you listen to?

Wow.  Umm….  I pretty much listen to anything.  There’s very little that I don’t like.  But my favorites right now are Gwen Stefani, Pink, Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson and what we call “booty” music.  You know – anything that makes you want to do the rumpshaker :)  I’m sort of embarrassed that I like so many American Idol artists, but I guess I just have to be honest and fess up to it.

16.  Is there anything you collect?

Other than bad habits and hobbies?  I do have a “thing” for those smooshed pennies that you get at tourist traps, and I’m also a sucker for those old pennnies that have wheat ears and “one cent” written across the back.  Oh and a wee vintage button habit.  Other than that, not so much.  More room for yarn and fabric that way, you know? 

17.  What are your hobbies, aside from knitting?

I crochet a bit, have a mild interest in beading and wire work, reading, sewing, and kayaking with hubby.  But right now, knitting has kind of taken over as my main obsession.  Keeps me out of trouble I guess! 

18.  Are you participating in any other swaps or knit alongs?

Yep!  Have a look at the sidebar :)

19.  Do you have a favorite scent?

I adore coconut!  And pretty much anything that smells like food or fruit!  I’m not really big on floral smells though.

20.  When is your birthday? (You don’t have to add the year if you don’t want to, LOL.)

September 12th.  I’m going to leave out the year to maintain my mystery……  Of course anyone reading this will now instantly know that I’m old!

Hope that helps, Secret Pal!  Thanks for stopping by and feel free to ask me anything else you fancy to know that I might have left out!

2 thoughts on “Da Da Da! Sock It To Me Sock Swap Questionnaire

  1. Ha! Now I know even more about you! Thank you for sharing! It’s such a fun getting to know you better! I am very amazed to hear that you a coconut fan too… lovely…
    Anyhow, have a lovely trip and talk to you soon!
    Sorry… one more think what the heck is “booty music”? I am sorry I am European and I am metal chick… and I have no idea what do you mean by that :D

  2. Whoops… I commented on the wrong post. It’s either the wine or the fact your text is incredibly TINY on your blog! LOL!

    Anyhoooo… I’m in this Sock Swap too.. It’s gonna be funnnnnn….. Hehehehehhehehe……

Leave a comment