Christmas Around The World Swap Questionnaire

Well, I suppose since I am co-hostessing this particular swap, I should play by my own rules and post this on time! The fun part is, there’s 25 questions – one for each of the 25 days of Christmas! It might seem a bit early to some to be talking Christmas, but many of the blogging knitters out there are already starting their Christmas knitting and blogging about it, so I guess I’m perhaps fashionably late to the party at this point…..

  1. Are you religious?  Not particularly.  Maybe spiritual would be a better word.  I definitely believe in Karma.
  2. How long have you been knitting? Would you consider yourself a Beginner, Intermediate or Advanced?  I’ve been knitting since about January 2006.  I guess I would consider myself intermediate.
  3. Do you have any other hobbies besides knitting?  It would probably take less time to tell you which hobbies I’m *not* interested in!  But mainly I enjoy reading, crocheting, sewing, some beading and I’ve recently gotten interested in embroidery and crewelwork.
  4. Favorite color(s)?  Pink!  I also love combinations with pink: pink & brown, pink & red, pink & green.  I could go on….. 
  5. Do you collect anything?  Other than extra pounds?  Not really.  I used to have a thing for vintage buttons and blue mason jars, but I’m trying to curb that habit a bit (I’d rather spend my time and money on yarn!).  I also really love vintage sewing and knitting or crocheting patterns.  I’ve got piles!
  6. Are you allergic to any fibers or animals?  Not that I know of, but I’ve been having some trouble since I moved in with our poopies.
  7. Do you have any pets?  Yep.  2 pooches (poopies) – a chocolate lab and a jack russell terrier (terror).
  8. Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate?  There’s certainly a time for each in my book.  Tea on winter nights before bed, coffee every morning to wake me up and hot chocolate as a special treat when I need cheering up.
  9. Cookies or Sweets?  I’m more of a sweets person, but I never met a cookie I didn’t like :)  I’ve got an *insane* sweet tooth!  I love dark chocolate and anything chewy or sour.
  10. Do you knit socks? Yep!  I’ve crossed over to the dark side recently.
  11. If not socks then what? (tell us about your favorite knits)  Other than socks, I knit just about anything else that catches my fancy without discretion.  The more the merrier!
  12. Do you put up a Christmas tree? If not then what do you do?  Yep!  I used to be fanatically against fake Christmas trees until I moved in with R. Darling who owns a *gorgeous* fake tree.  Now I love how easy it is to put up and how perfectly the branches look no matter what.  Not to mention, there’s no phantom critters or weird smells (like skunk pee) to deal with!
  13. Favorite holiday treats?  Hmmmm.  Chocolate and peppermint mochas, though I guess those aren’t specifically holiday.  Oh, pumpkin pie too!
  14. Favorite holiday smells?  Cookies, pine, vanilla, cinnamon, pumpkin, peppermint, orange, cloves.  There are so many good ones!
  15. Do you celebrate Christmas in a traditional or unconventional way? Please elaborate.  We’re pretty traditional.  Go to my MIL’s on Christmas Eve usually, and then have Christmas morning alone with my husband.  My parents and some friends of our family come over later on Christmas day for dinner as well.
  16. What are your favorite holiday traditions?  We don’t really have many, but I always love opening a single gift on Christmas eve.  My husband and I usually choose one for each other to open and we also exchange cards – one mushy and one funny.  This was something R. Darling did for me the first Christmas we were together and now we carry that tradition on between the two of us.  I love it!
  17. Finish the sentence: “For me Christmas is all about….”  love and sharing, and peace on earth goodwill toward men.  For reals.
  18. If you were a Christmas ornament you would be…….?  A glass snowflake, all sparkly and reflective and one-of-a-kind.
  19. What was your favorite gift you’ve ever received? Or given?  Hmmm.  This one’s tough (who made these up anyway? LOL).  I guess the gifts that I loved the best as a kid were the teddy bears I’d get every Christmas from Santa (and then later my parents).  I *loved* teddy bears and every Christmas there’d be a new one under the tree on Christmas morning for my collection.  As a “grown-up” I’d have to say that R. Darling’s gifts to me the first Christmas we were together have been my favorite so far.  He gave me a frame with several pictures of us in it, including one from our first grade photo that he’d photoshopped to show just the two of us standing together (and he told me he wasn’t creative!).  The diamond earrings were a nice touch too!  As far as given?  I love to make gifts for people and I think the crocheted beaded snowflakes that I made for a family friend who has since passed away, are my favorite thing that I’ve given.  She loved them so much, and to know that she appreciated the love I put in to them was really special for me.
  20. When do you start your Christmas?  I believe in Thanksgiving having enough time to be its own holiday, so decorations don’t go up until around the first or second weekend in December.
  21. Do you send Christmas cards? Do you make them or buy them?  I send a lot of Christmas cards!  I love addressing them and choosing designs beforehand (I buy them on clearance after Christmas the year before).  I don’t do family newsletters (do people really read those?  I guess I do, but I feel I’d bore everyone to death writing my own) but I do write a personal note in each card I send.  I like it best that way.  I usually buy them, but I’d love to have the time to make my own someday.
  22. What is your favorite Christmas dish?  Our family doesn’t have any traditional Christmas dishes.  But I guess I like pumpkin pie and my mom usually makes egg nog from an old family recipe that was actually served in the White House at one time (one of her distant ancestors was a former U.S. President!).  It’s yummy and makes you nice and fuzzy inside!
  23. Carolers are at your door. What do you do?  This doesn’t happen around here, but I’d smile a lot and try to find some treats to pass out.
  24. When do you open presents? Christmas eve or Christmas morning?  One gift on Christmas Eve and then the rest on Christmas morning.  Although, we usually end up opening presents over at my MIL’s when we go there on Christmas Eve.
  25. Do you celebrate with family or friends or both?  Both!  Although some of our close family friends are really more like family.  We don’t celebrate with any of my husband’s and my friends though.  They all have their own families to visit.

5 thoughts on “Christmas Around The World Swap Questionnaire

  1. Cookies or sweets? What kind of question is that!… I thought cookies were sweets… anyway, personally, I love them all: cookies, candies (I assume these are the “sweets” they mean), cakes, pies, etc.

    It was fun to read your questionnaire (and the fill-in of your previous post).

  2. Hehehehe cookies or sweets :D That’s how it is when person, who speaks british english gets to set the questions ;)
    Thanks Sweetie for letting me know all those facts about you! I will put my questionary on my blog too… I always forget about such stuff…

  3. Ah, how sweet, your beloved teddy bear gifts. And the customized first grade photo, what a wonderful treasure!

    Why am I craving a chocolate and peppermint mocha? :)

  4. Are you religious? Yes

    How long have you been knitting? A year and a half.

    Would you consider yourself a Beginner, Intermediate or Advanced? I would consider myself and Intermediate Knitter.
    Do you have any other hobbies besides knitting? Crochet and Jewelry making.
    Favorite color(s)?

    Do you collect anything? I collect ceramic elephants with the trunks up. I also collect shot glass from different US cities or world locations.

    Are you allergic to any fibers or animals? No.
    Do you have any pets? NO.
    Coffee, Tea, or Hot Chocolate? Herbal Tea. I’m allergic to chocolate.
    Cookies or Sweets? Cookies. I love oatmeal raisin and sugar cookies.
    Do you knit socks? No. I’d like to learn how to do them though.
    If not socks then what? (tell us about your favorite knits) Felted Hand bags

    Do you put up a Christmas tree? If not then what do you do? We did put up a tree last year. I live with my parents. I’m an adult so it’s not a big deal anymore. My brothers are grown too. We usually go out of town for Christmas.
    Favorite holiday treats? COOKIES!! Egg Nog
    Favorite holiday smells? Cookies and cinnamon

    Do you celebrate Christmas in a traditional or unconventional way? Please elaborate. We’re very traditional. All of my mom’s relatives get together at

    What are your favorite holiday traditions? All of my mom’s relatives (her sisters and their families, my great-aunt and her adult children), we get together every year at a relative’s house and spend Christmas together. We’re talking about 22 people in one house! It’s a lot of fun! We travel to the Midwest, East, or South.

    If you were a Christmas ornament you would be…….? A snow globe ornament.

    What was your favorite gift you’ve ever received? Or given? I bought my father two Michael Jordan designer ties. You can buy them in Chicago.

    When do you start your Christmas? On Black Friday. My mother and I hit the stores.

    Do you send Christmas cards? Do you make them or buy them?
    I don’t send Christmas Cards or make them.

    What is your favorite Christmas dish? I’ll say the cranberry sauce.

    Carolers are at your door. What do you do? Don’t have any carolers in our area. We’re usually out of town for Christmas.

    When do you open presents? Christmas eve or Christmas morning? Neither. Christmas Afternoon. Do you realize how hard it is to get 22 PEOPLE UP at the SAME TIME and GET THEM DRESSED? LOL

    We open presents on Christmas. Usually in the evening. Have to get the dinner done first, then open gifts and take a family picture. Then we eat

    Do you celebrate with family or friends or both? I celebrate with my family (mother, father, brothers, aunts, uncles, cousins, Great aunt and her children – ALL 22 of us! LOL)

Leave a Reply

