It’s A Nice Day For A Peppermint Mocha

And oh yes, I am singing that title in my head to Billy Idol’s “White Wedding”…..
‘Cause that’s how I roll.

wasabifetching111807c

I finished the first knitted Christmas gift on my list today!   A pair of Fetching fingerless mitts for my closest college friend living far far away.  These will get wrapped up with a handmade tag and sent off just as soon as I collect the rest of the gifts to go in the package (ornaments for her kids and a Barnes & Noble card for her hubby).  It’s so good to be able to cross something off the list! 

Knitty Nonsense for those who care:

  •  Pattern:  Fetching from Knitty – Summer 2006

  • Needles:  Size 6 metal dpn’s

  • Yarn:  Debbie Bliss Pure Cashmere in Spring Grass colorway; approximately 2.25 balls

  • Recipient:  Christmas gift for a very close college friend

  • Begin Date:  November 7, 2007

  • End Date:  November 18, 2007

  • Thoughts:  I wasn’t sure about using this yarn at first.  It produced a very thick, velvety fabric that I thought fit a little too snugly.  But I took them in to the office and had the boss’s wife try them on and she thought they were perfect.  I guess I just have big hands!  The cashmere was a little bit splitty if I wasn’t careful, and slippery on the dpn’s (but I don’t usually use metal so that could explain it), but overall it worked up really nicely and I think these will be a great Christmas gift.

wasabifetching111807b

And yup.  That really is a peppermint mocha.

13 thoughts on “It’s A Nice Day For A Peppermint Mocha

  1. (I am so glad I’m not the only one who sings “adapted” songs like that!)

    I love the mittens – the color is like a little shot of pick-me-up.

    Lisa

  2. I LOVE the peppermint lattes; now that I’ve seen you with your mocha, I think I’m going to have to take my grading to Starbucks this afternoon and get me one!

    And CASHMERE Fetchings…what a lovely friend you are for your (lucky, lucky) friend.

    BTW: how funny is it that while we were corresponding this weekend re: yarn trades, I was making Dashing from Knitty and you were making Fetching?!

  3. Don’t worry Maryanne, I sing all kinds of tunes…For Scout, I sing “stinky, stinky, ay ya ya ya” to “Lady Marmalade”. LOL. Hey, you gotta be creative when you have kids!

    The Fetching gloves are gorgeous and you should be really proud of them!

    I hope you got your package, if not maybe by Friday? Have a great Thanksgiving!

  4. wow I can’t believe I missed this post. Of course I might have opened it and then a computer crashed so thus I never got to see it. Oh well.

    Lovely fetchings. I love the color. So bright and fresh and definitely a spark in our dreary NW world.

Leave a Reply

