The List

christmas list 07

Nope. This is not a joke.
I do actually own SpongeBob Squarepants Christmas stationery.

 

Every holiday season I make The List. It’s always on Christmas paper and it’s always categorized.  Yes, I’m list-obsesessed.  Yes, it might be just a bitty bit creepy how obsessed I am with lists.  But apparently, I’ve got lots of company.

I’m one of those people who shops all year long and buys things that would be the perfect something for someone as soon as I spot them, most especially if they happen to be on sale (thrifty, I am). Then I ferret them away into little niches and closets around the house and have me a grand old time looking for them when the holidays finally come around again.  Imagine an ultra-caffeinated squirrel in your side yard who spends all autumn digging little holes for its acorns and then, when winter appears, can’t find the damn things. 

So The List usually kicks off with the names of people I’ve purchased gifts for, what I purchased and how much it cost.  Then The List expands to the “Must Make” part of the list.  “Must Make” is further broken down into: “Finished”, “Need to Make”, “Should Make” and “Maybe-Kinda-Sorta-Will-Make-If-I-Have-Enough-Time”.  Let’s be honest though.  In zero hour, just before Santa arrives on the rooftop expecting his cookies and milk, a lot of stuff gets shuffled into that last category which magically transforms into the “Oh-shit-I-didn’t-finish-that-gift-in-time-must-now-buy-you-the-perfect-something” column.  Ah, the magic of Christmas!

 Seriously though.  I adore Christmas.  It’s my favorite time of year and I love making gifts for people.  And man do I have my work cut out for me this year!

 

Christmas Knitting 2007

 

Need To Make:

Should Make:

  • Pattern:  Sheldon

    • For Niece A – in Green Apple & Grass Knitpicks Shine Sport

    • For Niece T – in Cherry and Blush Knitpicks Shine Sport

  • Pattern: Fetching

    • For Parents’ neighbor B – She wants acrylic!

  • Pattern: Cabled Earflap Hat

    • For MIL – in Plum Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Superchunky

Maybe-Kinda-Sorta-Will-Make-If-I-Have-Enough-Time

 

There it is.  In a nutshell.  There’s more, but it’s secrety squirrel so you’ll have to wait until Christmas!

9 thoughts on “The List

  1. I love your to-do-list. When the NaNoWriMo madness is done, I will make mine. Oh gosh, I need time, oceans of times, godzillions of time… but I’m getting there! Sponge Bob rules!

  2. I am a little scared that we have almost the exact same approach to Christmas Shopping and list making. I don’t have the Spongebob stationary though… I think my girls would confiscate it from me! Also, check out flylady.com & look under Holiday Control Journal. She’s got the perfect gift giving list for people like us.

  3. I shop the way you do too. I start looking in January and I start planning my Christmas giftees to make.

    I feel a bit unprepared for Christmas but this year I have a bit of a reprieve since the big family gathering isn’t till January.

  4. Wow… if my sister ever saw your Spongebob Squarepants Christmas stationary I have a feeling she would track you down and fight you to the death for it.

    Your friends and family are so lucky! (especially the ones getting the Fetching mitts!!!)

    Oh yes, and to answer your question, Zsa Zsa is a Shiba Inu. They are awesome dogs, definitely very… INTERESTING. They are too darn smart for their own good, and very independent/strong-willed. As long as you’re ok with your dog not wanting to snuggle every time you do, then a Shiba will be a fun family addition ^_-

Leave a Reply

