It’s Beginning To Look Something Like Christmas…..

christmaspresents2007 

 

For the last 4 days I’ve done nothing but shuffle around the house with my box of kleenex and pocketful of cough drops, drinking cups of tea and exhausting my Christmas movie supply.  My boss brought some nasty bug to work last Wednesday where it got busy with the other bugs in our humid laboratory, and proceeded to launch a full on sneak attack on my normally iron-clad immune system.  So I didn’t make it to the Deception Pass Dash yesterday to cheer on Mr. CrazyPants (R. Darling), which I felt pretty bad about, but he managed to complete the grueling 5.8 mile race in high winds and miserable conditions where many others dropped out.  Hooray for Crazy!!  I’m proud of you honey :)

Saturday we had a little taste of the holidays as we woke up to a dusting of snow and a day filled with soft white flurries.  For once the snow came on a weekend when we didn’t have to drive anywhere so I could just smile and enjoy the fluffy white marshmallow world outside.  Nothing inspires the latent photographer in me more than a fresh snowfall.  So I dragged my photography assistant (R. Darling) outside with me to snap a few photos of one of my recent FO’s while the light was nice.

 

orchid fetching 3a

 

orchid fetching 1a

 

orchid fetching 2a

For knitty specifics, you can visit this previous post

 

I love how these photos turned out.  If you look closely, you can see R. Darling and me reflected in the ornament.  I guess we should have smiled for the camera! 

In typical Pacific Northwest fashion, the snow disappeared by Sunday afternoon and now we are back to the rain and wind that characterize winter here in our little corner of the world.  Between sniffles and hacking up a lung once or twice, I was able to finish the Valley Yarns’ Falling Leaves Scarf that I’ve been working on since last weekend.  That was a relief because I expected it to take me much longer to knock that one out and with it behind me now, the future of The List doesn’t seem nearly as bleak.  It’s not blocked yet, but I hope to do that soon with my nifty little Knitter’s Block.  I’ll let you know how that works out.  But for now here’s the Frosty Falling Leaves in its unblocked glory:

 

frosty falling leaves scarf 120307

 

frosty falling leaves scarf detail 120307

 

I started the Holiday 2007 IK Clutch yesterday and it’s going fairly quickly, so that’s encouraging.  I also expected this one to take me some time but I think the most complicated part will be hand sewing in the lining and zipper and that shouldn’t be too bad since I’m starting on this one early in the month.  Then a couple more Fetchings and a hat and I should be set for smooth gift giving. 

 

 BTW:  Whatever idiot made up that law of the universe that says you will have some kind of nasty skin eruption the day you are scheduled for a dentist appointment, needs a severe spanking.  I can just hear the dental hygienist behind his magnifying glasses, staring at my volcano sized pores and saying to himself, “Eeeewwww.  Gross.  Hasn’t she ever heard of Benzoyl Peroxide?”   

 

So…….how was your day?

10 thoughts on “It’s Beginning To Look Something Like Christmas…..

  1. I love this post…your presents all wrapped and Christmas-like. Your bright and shiny ornament. Fetching mitts are beautiful, did you use the cable cast on? But, my favorite is your scarf…even unblocked.

  2. OMG – Laughing still at the skin eruption comment.

    I love the scarf. It looks so pure and simple and that makes it fab! I love the reflections. I love the “signature” at the bottom of the prints as well!

    Chicken Noodle Soup! Shame on the boss for getting you sick. I hope that you feel better soon!

  3. Fetching looks great! I don’t know what it is lately, but i just broke out too – for the first time in awhile. Not sure what to blame it on, but there’s got to be some sort of explanation! Hope you feel better soon!

  4. What does he know anyway?! It’s not like it doesn’t happen to everyone once in a while! LOL

    Fetching is just beautiful! I love that color and with the snow fall, gorgeous!

    Hope you feel better soon! Congrats to hubby too!

  5. I hope you’re feeling better already! I thought I catched it twice in the last week, but then I was fine. I’m drinking a lot of hot water with citrus juice ;-) Nice fingerless gloves! They are beautiful in that color! The white scarf looks great also – the motif is very nice!

  6. Those pictures are gorgeous! You’re a pro hehe.

    And I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been sick! *sending you wellness dust* Feel better hun! I know how it is – my hubby is in the middle of a flu-ish thing, and I just keep chugging oj hoping it will protect me!

Leave a Reply

