On Resolutions

Ah, 2008, you’re finally here!  The time which signifies a fresh start for so many:  Resolution Time.  I don’t usually make resolutions, figuring someone like me could pretty much use year round improvement.  So why only think about it once a year?  But when I do take the time to list out specific goals for myself it’s usually on my birthday.  What better time than your own personal new year for reflecting on your life, renewing your fire for the things that are important to you and moving forward into your new year with a refreshed outlook?  But this year, along with the rest of the New Year’s Resolution folks, I’ve got a few of my own.

Finding a good resolution is like finding a good man.  You want one that inspires you to become the best version of yourself that you can be, without controlling you or issuing ultimatums.  I mean, we want success and happiness here, not miserable heartbreak and tear-filled freakouts!  My resolution buzz words this year are, coincidentally, also “re” words.  Interesting how that worked out…..

 

Reduction:  My waistline, my thighs, my clutter, my stress, my extraneous obligations, my worry, my debt, my expenditures (especially on stash-enhancing ventures), my guilt over practically everything, the junk in my trunk…..

Renewal:  My fitness goals, my hopes and dreams, my charity knitting, interest in old UFO’s, my focus on the good things in my life that I’m thankful for, my happiness….

 

Have you ever noticed that 80% of “resolution” is “solution”?  The key to your resolve is finding the right solution.  You might not see it at first, but it’s there. 

 

Happy New Year everyone, and here’s to finding your own solutions!!

13 thoughts on “On Resolutions

  1. Happy New Year sweetie! I think your analysis of the resolution conundrum was quite excellent – I know I’ll be using the ‘solution’ angle as I try to figure out what I want to make out of this new year for myself.

    May your knitting multiply, your stash overflow (hmmm, should I really be wishing you that?), your thighs (and all those other bothersome body parts) magically decrease in size (I know I’m counting on magic for mine, since I seem to have no personal effect on mine), your heart be full of hope and love, and your year be the best yet!

  2. That’s a great post! I really liked the 80% quote. I never thought of it that way, but that’s so true. If I were honest I would have to say that I have the same goals for myself in the coming year and every year. ;)

    Happy New Year and God Bless!

  3. It took me a long time to give up my freak outs. I always felt that I needed ‘drama’ in my life. I still get a little OCD on some things, but the meds are helping! (LOL – but there is truth in that!)

    Good luck with you resolutions, and Happy New Year!

  4. Happy New Year!! I like your post. I would add one, to be easier on yourself and love yourself as much as everyone loves you!

    BTW, I saw Elf on TV over the holidays and heard them refer to someone as a “knittymuggins” – is that how you came up with your name?

  5. I agree with Robin, love yourself as much as everyone else loves you. This is one I struggle with, but it seems like the most “together” people I know are the ones that accept themselves for who they are. I strive to be one of those cool, calm, collected people.

  6. 100 items! It will go fast if you count each sock or mitten as one item. :-) I did tons last year but didn’t keep count. I am going to jump on the 100 items band wagon. Good to have such great company. I am finishing my first item this week. It’s a baby blanket for Afghans for Afghans.

    kathy in michigan

Leave a Reply

