Apron Swap & Contest Answers Part 4

ApronSwapsm

 

Shawnee, who was one of the participants in my Christmas Swap this year, asked me to let you all know about her Flirty Apron and Accessory Swap.  I won’t be able to participate this time around (cutting back this year!) but it looks like fun and I promised to pass the word ;)  Check out the link if you’re interested…..

 

So, last night was my final date for receiving entries for the contest.  I’m planning on picking a name later on this evening and then announcing the winner tomorrow.  Whee, excitement!  Hopefully I can get to the rest of everyone’s questions between now and then.  I never expected there’d be so many of you out there!

Kim (who has quite the list of tricks herself!) asked a good one:  “What is your stupid human trick?”

I was actually thinking I didn’t have a single one until the other morning when I asked my husband what he thought my stupid human trick was.  Then I remembered – I can wiggle my ears!  Other than that, I have really creepy elbows that might be double jointed or something.  When I bend them backwards they go just a wee bit too far and look really gross.  I remember my cousins freaking out over this once.  I’d never even realized there was anything weird about them until then!  Other than that, I’m pretty boring.

tinker and Triplet Mom both asked:  “What is your favorite animal and why?”

I love bunnies!  No reason why except that they’re so sweet and innocent; how could you not love them?  If you asked me this when I was 10 though, I’d probably have said it was a solid tie between unicorns and pegasus (or the rare and elusive unipeg/pegacorn).

Wow, Tanya got me with a triple-whammy:  “Question: do you like to cook? If so what is your favorite meal to cook and why?”

Yes, I actually love to cook!  The only thing is, I hate what I call day to day cooking.  I cook nearly every single day and I get really sick and freakin’ tired of cooking the same crap all the time.  I love trying new recipes but seldom have the time to do that so the daily grind kinda sucks all the joy out of cooking for me.  As for my favorite meal to cook?  That would have to be the Bourbon and Brown Sugar Glazed Flank Steak recipe I got one year out of Cooking Light.  This is a bona-fide 9 on hubby’s scale (nothing earns a 10 unless it’s served naked he says; so you can guess exactly how many meals have gotten 10’s!).  Not only is it delicious but it’s decent for your waistline and easy to cook.  I am a bit of a sucker for cooking Thanksgiving dinner too though.  Even though it’s a ton of work, my family loves it and I feel good about doing something special like that for them.

“Question: If you could magically wave a wand and change one thing about yourself : would you, what would it be and why?”

Oh you can bet I’d take that magic wand and swish the crap out of it!  Physically, there’s too many things I’d change to even bother to mention here.  But first and foremost I’d go back in time and put on sunscreen dammit!  It’s so sad that the damage I’ve done to myself could have been prevented.  I always thought having darker skin protected me but it so doesn’t.  As far as non-physically, I’d want to have the ability to forget about what other people think about me and quit trying to please everyone else all the time.  I’m so bad about that.

“Question: Favorite drink when out on the town?”

Usually a plain old lemon-lime margarita on the rocks.  But have you tasted the Limoncello at the Olive Garden?  OMG.  Must.learn.how.to.make.now.  Soooo yummy!

Along the food subject, Robin asked:  “What is your favorite food?”

I’m a sucker for any kind of dessert, though rhubarb pie has to be an all-time favorite.  As far as types of food, I’ll go for Asian food any day over pretty much anything else.  Now that R. Darling is off of his Thai food strike, we go out for Thai whenever we have a chance.  I do wish we had a Vietnamese place here though because I really love Vietnamese food too.

Monica asked:  “I’ve tried to start blogging several times and never stick with it. Was there anything in particular that you did to help you keep blogging, or was it just finally the right time?”

That’s a good question because I’ve never really stopped to think about why blogging finally stuck for me.  I think I started getting serious about blogging around the time that I started getting more serious about knitting and about reading knitting blogs.  I think I felt that I finally had something to talk about and that I could do what other bloggers were doing, namely making things and writing about it.  Over the past year or so as I’ve gotten to know more bloggy friends my blog has evolved into being a little more about my personal life than it was when I started out.  Sometimes I don’t know if that’s good or bad!  But the main thing for me was just taking the time to sit down and write about something, anything, and get it out there.

On a related note, jennsquared asks: “What type of blog entries entice you to bookmark that blog and go back to read it over and over again?”

O.k.  I’m totally like a 3 year old on this one.  For me, it’s all about the pictures.  If the majority of the posts don’t have pics, I won’t even bother to stop to read.  That being said, most of the blogs I read are blogs of people that I know already somehow so that rule doesn’t apply to them.  I rarely have time to surf around looking for new things to read so when I do, pics always grab my attention.  After that, it’s witty commentary or something that I think I can relate to that will keep me reading.  That makes me sound like a snob doesn’t it?  Yikes.  I’m totally not.  I don’t think…..

p3knitter asked: “Okay – my question … because I just never asked and I’m curious. What are your family origins, and where are your ancestors from? For some reason I love to know this about people, don’t ask me why?”

I am always interested in finding this out about the people that I know!  And I get asked this question a lot because people know I look “different” but they just aren’t sure why.  Basically, I’m a mutt.  No seriously.  To be totally honest, I am not 100% sure what my family origins are because I was adopted when I was 4 1/2 and all I know is what the social worker told my parents about my background.  The condensed version that I always tell people is that I’m 1/4 Native American, 1/4 Caucasian (don’t know of what origin though my dad thinks it might be Swedish), and 1/2 Vietnamese.  A very strange combination indeed.  I always feel like I might be telling a lie since none of it has ever been truly confirmed, but to the best of my knowledge, that’s what I am.  A mutt.

That question has a lot to do with my answer to Knitsabella’s question of:  “Do you have any “possible but hard to achieve” dreams? Do you think you’ll ever do any of them?”

Probably my biggest “possible but hard to achieve” dream would be to find out more about where I come from.  Don’t mistake this for finding my birth parents, because I absolutely do not want a relationship with those people.  I just want to know if the truth that I think is my truth is real.  I’d like to know a lot of things that I will probably never find out.  But, theoretically, if I had the time and money I could probably find somebody to help me with this and maybe someday I will.  The other dream would probably be to go to Italy!

And now, for an even 10, Bianca asked:  “How do birthdays follow each other in your family?”

In our family, September is the craziest month of the year.  Nearly everyone in our immediate family as well as our group of friends has a birthday in this month (including me) and our wedding anniversary is also in September.  The calendar is always jam-packed!  March is another crazy-ish sort of month but not nearly as bad.  I do know a lot of people who have March as their crazy time though. 

 

Whew!  I still haven’t managed to answer all your questions, but I’ll get to the rest tomorrow after I announce the winner of my Unbloggyversary contest.  As if you’ll be interested in reading the answers after I’ve announced the winner, hee hee.  Thanks again to everyone for playing along and now I’m off to draw a name!

6 thoughts on “Apron Swap & Contest Answers Part 4

  1. I was going to guess Vietnamese, because you really do look a lot like cousin, who is 1/2 Vietnamese.

    BTW – that Rusted Root is AMAZING!!!

  2. I have really enjoyed reading your answers to all these questions! I didn’t realize until last night (Sunday) that I could have left a question for your contest up until Saturday – oops! Everybody has great questions : )

  3. Thanks for answering my q’s! I agree with you on the cooking, bored as all get out on the day to day and i love doing the holiday meals even with all the work! My agic wand would be small aside from a few pounds here and there. I have not tried that drink at olive garden yet…but now i know what to order next time! I am so guilty of the sunscreen as well….and after the 12+years in hawaii am kind of nervous as i approach closer to 40.

  4. I would have guessed the Native American side for sure, but now that you mention it, I see the Vietnamese too. I loved all the questions! You have great readers! :)

  5. Awww but you’re such a pretty mutt! hehe It’s funny – I’ve always thought Native American/Filipino when I saw your pics so I guess that’s somewhat close. Be proud of your “mutt-ness” – multi racial children generally end up so good looking and spunky!

Leave a Reply

