Sad News

zen gigi

Image courtesy of Zen Yarn Garden

 

Maybe this is old news to some of you, but it’s new news to me.  This morning I received word from Zen Yarn Garden that Momma Monkey (Gigi Silva) had recently lost her battle with Lupus.  I didn’t know Gigi, or know much about her, but I did know of her lovely sock patterns and had stopped by her blog on occasion.  In fact, my Ravelry Faves are full of her sock patterns!  To hear that she had passed away shocked and saddened me even though I didn’t know her well.  Now that I can count myself amongst the members of the knitosphere, I instantly feel a bond with others who knit, no matter how different or distant we may seem to one another.  Losing someone with that kind of artisitic fire, who is so willing to share her creations (many of her patterns were offered for free) is truly a tragedy and she will surely be missed by the knitting community.  I never got the chance to knit any of her patterns, and they are currently unavailable until further notice, but I do hope to be able to honor her one day by doing so.  Until then, if you stop by Zen Yarn Garden, she has a colorway (pictured above) named for Gigi and for every skein purchased, $5 will go to Lupus research in memory of Gigi.  Best wishes and heartfelt condolences to Gigi’s family and friends.  I know she will be missed deeply. 

6 thoughts on “Sad News

  1. Thank you for posting about the Zen Yarn Garden Gigi colorway! I did not know they were doing that, and its very sweet of them. I think I heard about Gigi’s passing a month or so ago, but I still find it hard to accept. I didn’t know her personally either, but with Ravelry and blogs, it is so easy to get to know someone without knowing them, isn’t it? I found out yesterday that another Ravelry knitter (azknitter) suddenly passed away this week… her profile is still up and it is so hard to read it and then realize she is no longer with us. (hugs)

  2. I did not know her personally but she did do a custom order for me and was an extremely nice and talented woman. I’m glad that they are doing something like that to honor such a wonderful person. Thanks for sharing Maryanne!

  3. Thank you for posting this from your heart. It is true that we all have this universal connection due to knitting. I will be stopping by to get some for her memory. I will now be anxious to purchase patterns too so that I can support the cause!

  4. I’m so sorry :( Never known her, but I always find it so heart tearing when a talented person looses the fight against a sickness. World can be such a sad place.
    Thank you for the link, I think that’s a lovely idea to name one colourway with Gigi’s name.

Leave a Reply

