We <3 Katamari!

katamari 1a

Hot off the hook!!  Do I smell a Katamari?

 

My co-worker Miami has this huge obsession with the Katamari Damacy video game (o.k., totally not his real name but if Frespañol was a language like Fritalian is, mi ami would mean my friend, which is a pretty good fake name for your buddy).  If you haven’t heard of this one yet, basically it’s a Japanese acid trip with a disturbingly electro pop soundtrack that worms its way into your brain like no other.  It’s probably delivering some kind of insidious subliminal messages directly to my cerebral cortex and some afternoon I’ll wake up from a trance wearing a Hello Kitty shirt with at least 84 stuffed animals attached to my purse by keychains.  Oh wait.  That was last Thursday.  Anyway, the whole point of the game is to roll your ball all over the planet, picking things up as you go and allowing your ball to get bigger and bigger until you can throw it into the stars to make a new planet to please your father The King.  Simple and somehow addictive, it’s developed a huge cult following all over the world.  So when Miami’s birthday came around, and I found the pattern for this Katamari toy, I knew I had to make him one.  Three shockingly tacky colors, 28 magnets, and a crapload of sewing later, Miami had his new toy.  And yes, those magnets work folks! 

 

katamari 2a

Don’t get me too close to your face or I’ll suck out your fillings!

 

PatternMagnetic Katamari Pattern

Yarn:  Red Heart Ltd. Soft Yarn Solids in Tangerine; Caron Simply Soft Brites in Limelight & Blue Mint

Hooks:  Size E & Size G

Other stuff:  Magnets & Stuffing

Mods:  None

Comments:  A little sewing-intensive, but technically easy.  Miami seemed to love it ;)

 

And now, back to our regularly scheduled fall off of the workout wagon!  Also known as attempting to drag your sorry ass into the workout room when you’d rather sit on the couch knitting and stuffing your face with bon-bons.

14 thoughts on “We <3 Katamari!

  1. Ahh I see this is what you have been working on. Just kidding. I love this pattern. When you queued it on ravlery, I instantly added because I could so see its possibilities.

    Now get off your ass and go walk a mile or do ten bicep curls.

  2. Miami is a very good fake name for your buddy! Your Katamari looks great – and what a perfect gift! Silly me, I got to imagining Katamari was some fancy sort of sushi. Your last Thursday sounds very interesting indeed ;)

  3. Very cute Maryanne. Good thing I don’t have any metal fillings, lol. I should think you might be in a load of pain with all those magnets!

  4. So YOU’RE the one who snagged my purse o’ plushies!

    But seriously = too cute! Makes me wanna throw on some Japanese electropop immediately.

  5. Oh… my… God… that is ADORABLE! Of course, having been a math major in college, my first thoughts were more geometric than Katamarish, but that magnets-in-action pic won me over. You just made me smile from ear to ear!

Leave a Reply

