200th Post, A Contest & A Meme!

Farmhouse Silk Blend

You might just find me in your mailbox someday!

 

Wow!  Today is my 200th post!  I cannot even believe it.  Lots of you have probably far surpassed this milestone by now, but it’s still amazing to me that I’ve kept with the whole bloggy thing long enough to make it to 200 posts!  As a special thank you to all of you supa-fantastic bloggy peeps out there, since I would never have reached 200 posts in the first place if it wasn’t for all of you, I’m going to have a little contest.  Woot!  I think I like having contests because I never seem to win anything whenever I enter someone else’s.  So if I can’t win any stuff, then at least I can give some of it away ;) 

The lowdown:

  1. Please leave a comment by midnight May 22, 2008 telling me how you found my bloggy in the first place and which posts you enjoy most (you don’t have to be specific about that last bit, just let me know if you like the knitting ones best, the travel ones, the ones where I speculate about the nature of my nuttiness, whatever….).
  2. The prize:  One skein of the yarn pictured above which is Farmhouse Silk Blend in a reddish-pink color.  This yarn is dk weight, 34% silk/33% cotton/33% Lamb’s wool and the skein contains 350 yards.  I thought it would make a great scarf (maybe this one?) or perhaps you have an even better project in mind!  Either way, I’ll be looking forward to sharing the yarn with you and seeing what you make out of it.  And there’s a chance a few other secret goodies might find their way inside the envelope too.
  3. On or about May 23, 2008 I will pick one random winner from all the entries and notify them via e-mail and here on the bloggy so everyone else can congratulate them too ;)  And then, ::yippee!::, your package will go out in the mail and you’ll have a new addition to your yarn family!

 

And now for our meme-tastic portion of the 200th post celebration! 

 

Lady Watkins who I know from the Christmas Swap Kasia and I hostessed last year, as well as the SKC, has tagged me for a book-ish sort of meme.  Nothing that requires me to think too hard or bore you with more sordid details of my 10-fries-short-of-a-Happy-Meal kind o’ habits.  I can dig it.

 

These are the rules:

  1. Pick up the nearest book of at least 123 pages.
  2. Open the book to page 123.
  3. Find the 5th sentence.
  4. Post the next 3 sentences.
  5. Tag 5 people.

 

The book:  “Guns, Germs and Steel” by Jared Diamond.  Haven’t read this one yet.  Let’s see….. page 123…..5th sentence, check. 

“If the conditions change, different types of individuals may now survive or reproduce better and become “naturally selected”, with the result that the population undergoes evolutionary change.  A classic example is the development of industrial melanism in British moths: darker moth individuals became relatively commoner than paler individuals as the environment became dirtier during the 19th century, because dark moths resting on a dark, dirty tree were more likely than contrasting pale moths to escape the attention of predators.  Much as the Industrial Revolution changed the environment for moths, farming changed the environment for plants.”

 

Wow, it sounds so much better when you read “moths” instead of “monks” (which I did the first time around).  That would have been a pretty creepy interpretation.  Anyway, I’m going to fight the power and not tag 5 people.  Play or not, whatever feels good. 

38 thoughts on “200th Post, A Contest & A Meme!

  1. Dude how did I find you. I think I was just following links and it was not from the SKC. Now that is a hard question but I do remember that you had some coral STR that you had hoped was pink for a sock KAL.

    Then you freaked me out by your response to my comment and that produced a wonderful friendship. I talked about your first email to me for months because I was shocked that someone thought so highly of me.

    Congrats on 200 posts. I hope you have many more hundred posts.

    The women of pink shall have a very very pink day.

  2. I guess I’m delurking- I do that best when people tell me too, but it’s easier when you tell me what to say in the comments! I found your blog through the SKC, but I love it because I’m from Washington, but I don’t live there now- I love hearing about what it’s like back home. I loved hearing reading Guemes, I can honestly say that once I stopped working in Skagit County I didn’t think I would ever hear that word again! Thank you!

  3. Good morning,

    That is too funny that is the book that you picked. My 16 yr old daughter is reading that. In response to your contest, I met you through the Gnome swap, you sent to me. I love all your posts, I find you to be very funny and informative and I think you take wonderful pictures. Congrats on 200 may you have many more.

  4. Congrats on the 200 posts! I know how you feel about the whole posting thing. I don’t think I have 200 yet. I’ll have to check.

    I knew you through Christmas Swap! That was such a great swap! We should totally do it again this year! I had so much fun!

    I think I enjoy the all around well rounded-ness of this blog. It always have beautiful pictures to accompany the entries and you have a variety of posts which interests me more.

  5. I’m sure most people are flush with excitement about your contest, but what caught my eye was this Christmas Around the World swap you speak (er, write) of–I have a borderline psychopathic obsession with all things Christmas, so I’m wondering if you have plans to host a similar swap for Christmas 08?

  6. I can’t remember how I found you it was so long ago! LOL But I think it was the post on how you met and married Roger, awe!

    What I like best? All of the content on your blog. The knitting, kayaking, and general nuttiness – I know I’m not alone in any of these areas!! Only hubby & I Mtn. Bike instead of Kayak, but who cares right? LOL

    Happy 200th post!

  7. Hey, 200 posts, wow! I wish I could say I was there from the beginning and have read them all, but I’ve only found out about your blog when you did your last contest (through WiKnit, I guess)… and I stuck around! As for the posts I like best, I’m not sure, really. I’d say that the mix of knitting, traveling, and personal stuff you’ve got in here is pretty good!
    It was very interesting to read those three sentences picked randomly in a random book, as I had learnt this very same story about the moths in the first of my biological anthropology classes! It’s a classic example, but it was funny to find it over here!

  8. I found you through the Christmas 07 Swap, it was the *only one* that was still accepting new swappers, and it was amazing. :) As my first official swap, I had no idea what to expect, but I’m glad everything went well and that I met some brilliant people in the process (you, hello, duh).

    The book nearest me is a history text, “The coercive acts infringed on liberty and could not be ignored.” is line 5. Ominous…

    PS– I need your address for something sneaky. ;)

  9. I vote for “the ones where I speculate about the nature of my nuttiness”. You’re a funny, witty gal and I enjoy your musings about life! I think you found my blog first, and that’s how I found you. I think!

  10. congrats on your 200th post! I love this meme, so I’ll play along :-) Here goes:

    Arlene was terrified I might actually try to install a toilet by myself, especially because I had that manic look when I talked about how much fun it would be to learn pipe fitting. Gently, and with much talk about how clever I was, she brought me back to my senses.
    I kept acting and trying to sell my writing, but my real life was happening in this small New Jersey town with crooked sidewalks and pompous mayors.

  11. Congrats on the 2ooth post! I found you through the Fitted Knits KAL and I personally vote for “the ones where I speculate about the nature of my nuttiness”!

    I look forward to reading the next 200 posts!

  12. Congratulations on 200 posts! I don’t remember how I originally found your blog (it was probably a link from somebody else’s or a Google blog search for knitting), and I like your knitting posts best but I like the other types too.

  13. Hmm… how did I find you? Was it the Sock It To Me swap or Sockapalooza? I don’t really remember. Anyway, I love the nutty knitty posts – especially when you say things like, “I like my crazy subtle.” I *still* giggle about that. I really relate to your posts and enjoy our email conversations. :)

  14. Congratulations on 200 posts, and may you have many more to come! I think I found your blog through yarncrawl’s blog. My favorite posts are those about the knitting.

  15. Congrats on being a long time blogger! I’m pretty sure I found your blog through Ravelry and I must say I enjoy all your posts. No matter what the subject. If I was pressed to choose, I’d have to say I am partial to the knitty ones because, well, I love knitting more than anything. Tee Hee.

  16. Hi! I found your blog through wiknit and I like all the photos of flowers and nature and pretty yarn. Pictures add so much to a blog!
    And congrats on 200 posts!

  17. I found your blog as I was looking for both Rusted Root photos, and what people were making with Angora Soft yarn. I think I was touched by reading how you & R. Darling had met in first grade! I like all of your posts!

  18. I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, I cannot remember how I found you?? I enjoy your knitting posts the most, since I’m a knitter as well!

    Happy 200th post!

  19. Congrats on your 200th post! I have had you bookmarked for a while now and stop by when i get the chance. But today i did link through wiknit’s site. (been in the yard/garden all day and needed a pc break)

    I enjoy all the posts honestly. What is new in your knitting life, travel, family, etc. I have found some great projects, recipes, seen some great places to put on my to go to list and gotten great ideas for family and craft projects…so all really!

  20. Happy posting! I found your blog through WiKnit. I read blogs to check in on what others are knitting and to read about all the craziness of their lives. I love to read but don’t always have the tiime to finish a whole book so blogs are like short wonderful novels.. full of love, passion, nuttiness, caring, stupid mistakes, and funny times.

  21. I enjoy clever posts the most. Funny posts. I found you on wiknit contest blog! I love that you are celebrating posts, not comments. We don’t all get loads of comments but we can still love to post

  22. I found you through WiKnit contest blog. It’s hard to pick which posts I like best. I love seeing knitting and what other people are doing, but I also love life stories. I’ll admit, I just got here, but I intend to go back and read through some of your past entries.

  23. I found your blog through charity knitting and continue to check in from time to time, even though I don’t have a blog of my own. I like your style and I love hearing about the kayaking because it’s something I think I would like to do someday. I canoe.

  24. Wiknit is where I found you.

    I really like posts on knitting and about life in general (what you did, what’s happening, etc.). I’m a little nosey…

  25. Congrats on your 200th post! I think I found you through Ravelry, or perhaps WiKnits. What I like best about all knitting blogs is the yarn p*rn and the pictures of finished (and unfinished) objects. I love the idea of the bike helmet ear warmers — wondering if my husband would like a pair…

  26. Congratulations on 200 posts! I found your blog via WiKnit. I’m a sucker for knitting posts, particularly FOs, but pretty pictures of yarn in general are never a bad thing.

  27. I find you via wiKnits.

    I’m here for the knitting – esp. the photos of knitting in progress, finished, whatever. Some people like the yarn, I’m all about the finished object.

  28. I found you via a random trail of links :D It may have begun with Rav, as that is how everything begins for me these days! :D I love your photography in general, so it’s hard to narrow it down to just a topic! I just like pretty pictures, be it of places or yarn <3 Congrats on 200 posts!

  29. Hello! I can’t remember how exactly I found your blog because I tend to blog surf around on other knitting blogs. If I find a blog I like, I visit their friends’ blogs because chances are, they are also well written too. Congrats on your 200th post!

  30. Congrats on your 200th ! I found your blog by surfing around on Ravelry and so far what I like best are the pictures, I love blog with many beautiful pictures. I do knit, so knitting is very fun to see as usual, but I enjoy seeing what people are doing and discover new places by their blog as well.

  31. Congrats on 200!! I’m coming up on year one of my blogging and I’m loving it. I’m going to do a contest in August! YEA! I found you via the Wiknit website for contests. I like nutty blog posts in general, cuz I feel like my nuttiness is a big part of me! Again, Congrats! Oh the yarn is so yummy too!

  32. Hiya Happy 200th Post! I found your blog from the Wiknit blog. I love getting new pattern ideas and see what other kinds of yarns that are out there. So i’m going to go with the Knitting Post with lots of picture or a link to Ravelry to view. Thanks for the contest

  33. Hmm, let me think. I believe I found you through WiKnit (maybe?). I’m not totally sure. But I do know that I love that you’re a lab girl (woot!), and I love all your photos, especially the travel ones. I can live vicariously through you!

    Happy 200th!!

Leave a Reply

