Monday’s Musings In The Form Of A Meme

The first thing I wanted to do when I got out of bed this morning was climb back in, pull the covers up to my chin, and lay there all day, possibly just staring at the ceiling with maybe a little nap action thrown in for good measure.  I’m having a meh kind of day.  A meh kind of weekend actually.  I could knit, but I’m not feelin’ it.  I could eat but nothing sounds good.  I could actually do some housework or yard work but seriously, why?  So what better way to accomplish something, without disturbing the meh too much, than to do a meme?  Wendee to the rescue!  My good online pal Wendee, creator of the insanely gorgeous Hazel Knits, has tagged me for the meme I’ve seen cropping up here and there on my bloggy friends’ sites recently.  Thanks Wendee!  It’s good to have some purpose today…… 

 

Halloween at the FDIU

Celebrating Halloween at my old WSU job

 

The rules of the game get posted at the beginning. Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5-6 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.

 

1. What was I doing 10 years ago?  10 years ago I was working on my Master’s in Microbiology at Washington State University.  I was probably done with classes and just doing research for my thesis.  And most likely I was dicking around a lot with my lab pal (think Mr. Bean), hanging out with hicks, and running a lot.  I was also just about to begin my love affair with iced mochas.  Sound boring?  It was, but it wasn’t.  I was single and enjoying being a singleton.  Everyone should experience that sometime in their life; doing whatever they want without having to consult anyone else or think about long term ramifications.

2. What are 5 things on my to-do list for today (not in any particular order)?

  • Pack up my box of Warm Woolies items to ship off
  • Start a packing list for my trip to the Gulf Islands (we leave Saturday morning!)
  • Go for a bike ride when R. Darling goes for his run
  • Weed & plant some ground cover I bought over the weekend
  • Scrub the stovetop (ugh.)

3. Snacks I enjoy:  Candy!!  But you already knew that ;)  Apples and cheese, crackers and cheese, good fresh fruit, pretzels and pretty much any kind of nut except hazelnuts.

4. Things I would do if I were a billionaire:  Before or after I peed my pants with excitement?  First I’d do the usual responsible stuff like pay off all our debts including the house and all loans/credit cards/cars, do the same for both sets of our parents, and invest some of the money.  And then I would travel, travel, travel.  I don’t care where, but Italy would have to be the first place we go.  I don’t think I’d want to work ever again, but R. Darling is one of those types that would probably have to or he’d have a meltdown.  I know it’ll never happen, but it’s still fun to think about.

5. Places I have lived:  Long Beach, CA; My current hometown; Westport, WA & Grayland, WA (7th grade); Rochester, NY (college); Pullman, WA (grad school & after).

6. Jobs I’ve had: 

  • Cashier at a local sporting goods store – Ick.  Just ick.
  • Dishwasher in a Neurobiology lab as an undergrad in college – This one was icky too (washing rat brains out of jars is kinda creepy) but at least mildly related to my intended career field.  And the lab folks were pretty nice and very flexible with my ROTC/Crew/College course/lackadaisical student schedule.
  • Data analyst in an endangered bird study on a local reservation – They never let me out in the field and I was never told exactly what I was supposed to do so I spent my day listening to recordings of how many birds they saw and where, and then charting it in some kind of software they had.  I was only there about 4 months before I went off to grad school.  I never even list this on my resume.
  • Microbiologist – With the Field Disease Investigation Unit at WSU.  One of the best jobs I have ever had.  My boss was amazing and even though I spent a good deal of my time tromping around farms covered in, and smelling like poop, I loved my time there.  I would probably still be there if it wasn’t for re-meeting R. Darling and moving back over here.
  • Lab Analyst – I’ve had this job at 3 different labs here in town.  Makes it sound like I’m flaky, but the first 2 labs I was in were entirely dysfunctional and made my whole life miserable.  You never really realize how much a bad work environment affects you until you don’t have to deal with it anymore.  Now I’m at one I love, with people (who I also really dig) that I’ve worked with at all 3 places.  It’s awesome.

7. Peeps I want to know more about:  Hmmm…. there’s so many!  But quite a few of my regular “reads” have already played along.  So, I’ll tag a few and if I missed you, and you feel like it, please play along too and let me know so I can come visit and read your answers :)  I tag:  Yorkshire Lass Knits, Knit One Blog Too, Learner’s Per-Knit, Pursuit of Fiber, and The Yarn Closet.  Have fun!!

9 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings In The Form Of A Meme

  1. I think we need to get off the same brainwave because your mehe were my mehe. I have no clue what I did this weekend but I do not care about any of it, even the package from my mom that was for my birthday. It was late because she did not want to send it half empty.

    Thanks for the Meme. I have not decided if I want to blog yet this week. So the Mehe continues. Maybe I can knock it out in my massage that I am getting in an hour.

  2. great costume! i was almost a ladybug this past Halloween. great to learn more about you, you get cooler each blog entry. yey! another trip, have fun!!!

  3. Loved the meme and the costume is fab! LOL Glad you found a better job, that makes all the difference!

    Hope you get to feeling better soon, but I totally know what you mean – I’ve been meh for a few days too!

  4. I don’t think the first part sounded boring at all, “…doing whatever they want without having to consult anyone else or think about long term ramifications.“; nothing whatsoever boring about that!

    One of my best friends went to Union College in NY on a ROTC scholarship; in fact, we met at Hanscom AFB when she began her “payback” time. She went on to get her PhD in Chemistry at UVA while her husband taught ROTC there LOL!

Leave a Reply

