Stuff From All Over

I have a guilty pleasure.  Well actually, I have many, but this is one I’m admitting to.  Miami (my co-worker) introduced me to this horribly snarky, terribly addicting, celebrity gossip site called What Would Tyler Durden Do.  Please don’t click the link at work or you might be unhappily surprised.  Unless maybe you were thinking of quitting anyway.  Lucky for me, my boss is just as interested in this garbage as we are, so there’s no having to quickly close your browser when the occasional questionable photo pops up.  I don’t know what it is.  I don’t normally go in for making fun of people.  I mean, it’s not nice.  But maybe knowing that beautiful, privileged people, frequently get caught doing stupid stuff or looking fugly in their swimsuits, somehow makes me feel more normal. 

Anyway, when Tyler Durden has nothing of real substance to say, or maybe when he’s just tired of trying to come up with something witty, he’ll have a post titled “Stuff From All Over” with bare bones snark on the latest celebrity gossip.  I’ve worked late the last 2 days (can you believe that nerds have to work late sometimes?) and am stupid exhausted.  I wanted to write something of substance yesterday but the punch-drunk zombie thing I got goin’ on, and trying to sound coherent, seemed mutually exclusive so it was a no go.  One of us (the computer or me) would have ended up in a twisted mangled mess and I’ll give you one guess as to who that would be. 

So today you get my version of stuff from all over!

 

Warm Woolies Thank You & Items #17-#25

Warm Woolies Thank You & Items #17-#25

 

I’ve been thinking for the past few days that I need to institute a Warm Woolies Wednesday here on my bloggy.  I’m sorry – I know it will be boring for you, but I think it would help keep me even more accountable to my goal as I try to reach it this year.  I sent my first package off to them just before we left for our Gulf Islands trip in June and when I got back, there was a sweet little thank you postcard in my collected mail.  The first package contained 16 items and I’m now up to 26 (started 27 today).  I also joined a group on Ravelry (on the intraweb here) that is knitting oddball baby blankets for Warm Woolies and I figure that each blanket I work on could be counted towards my final goal since I’ll be contributing to one finished item each time I help with one.  It will be a good way to use up some of the garage sale acrylic I have in my stash and it will be fun to do something a little different than what I’ve been doing with my own projects.  I don’t have the time to put into making a whole afghan myself, but to add to one will be lots of fun.

I started a Fake Isle hat for myself (which you may or may not have noticed in my Ravelry Notebook) and have finished over half of it but am considering frogging it and starting over.  I love the color combo and it feels good to be knitting from stash, but the Manos is too thick & thin-ny and it’s bugging me how different the thickness is between the Noro and the Manos.  I’m thinking it would be better to look for a similar color in Lamb’s Pride or Cascade 220 or some such and make something that I’ll be happier with when it’s finished.  Sorry, no pics though.  Did I mention I’m stupid exhausted?

Thanks so very much to each of you who commented on my Juliet!  I will now wear it with confidence thanks to all of you lovely bloggy peeps.  You totally made my day and I can’t thank you enough!!

I just found out this week that Pushing Daisies and Bones are both scheduled for 8 PM on Wednesdays this fall.  Oh, the cruelty!!  This makes me angry.  I cannot live without either of these shows.  Grrrr…..

Tomorrow we leave for Seattle and Gig Harbor.  We’re going to a Mariner’s Game tomorrow night (R. Darling seemed incredulous when I mentioned I might want to knit at the game; guess not….) and then driving to Gig Harbor to stay the night.  R. Darling runs his first marathon of the season (yes, you heard me right, I said first – he’s signed up for FOUR and just informed me there may be more) on Saturday morning at the butt crack of dawn and guess who will be driving his ass there at o’darkthirty?  He was sweet enough to find me directions to a yarn shop though so I think I can easily find a way to kill 4 hours.  I’m scared of the inevitable temptation though.  We spent an ungodly sum last weekend repairing his Harley so yarn acquisition is currently at critically low levels.  Then again, brain implosion from lack of retail therapy isn’t exactly pretty either.

Since I’ll be gone tomorrow and not around for the Friday Fill-In, I’m going to leave you with my version tonight.  Hope all of you have a fantastic weekend and happy knitting!

 

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Friday Fill-In #81
(get yours here)

 

1. If I could be a fly on the wall I would stay away from homes with flyswatters.

2. Jealousy is terribly damaging if you let it consume you, but feeling it on occasion is probably unavoidable.

3. When I see a shooting star my wish would be that the people I care about are granted their wishes.

4. I’d rather be carefree than stressed any day!

5. Certain songs when I hear them make me wanna dance dance dance.

6. If time were in a bottle I’d chug that mofo like it was goin’ out of style!

7. And as for the weekend, tonight (Friday) I’m looking forward to dinner at the Spaghetti Factory, tomorrow (Saturday) my plans include taking R. Darling to his marathon & maybe going to a new yarn shop and Sunday, I want to relax at home after all that running around!

8 thoughts on “Stuff From All Over

  1. Bones & Pushing up Daisies is aired the next day online for 3-4 weeks on their networks websites. Bones is also shown on Hulu.com.

    I stopped watching tv on the tv this fall when I discovered that I could watch it online. There are also a few cable channels that let you watch a few of their popular shows online.

  2. Oooh, I saw an ad for Pushing Daisies in the theater (of all places) and am beyond excited it’s back! I don’t have your dilemma, tho…I don’t like Bones!

    How are you liking/did you like Middlesex? I enjoyed that book very much!

    Your answer to #2 is so very true! Thanks for playing :-)

  3. OOOh what have you done to me? I am now officially addicted to the What Would Tyler Durden Do website. I almost shot coffee out of my nose when I was reading the comments on Sienna Miller and Balthazar Getty. Wow haven’t heard his name in a while. I loved him in Lord of the Flies. That was such a wonderfully freaky movie.

  4. Good job on the Warm Woolies items and getting closer to your goal. Fabulous work. I am currently working on a shawl and a baby blanket for Afghans for Afghans (A4A) so won’t see a finished product for a while. Hope you have fun at the yarn marathon.

  5. I hope your trip goes well….WOW, 4 marathons! I’m just shooting for one….when I turn 40.

    I have a good friend who lives in Gig Harbor, I’ve never been, but hope to some day.

    I’m heading over to Ravelry to check out the odd-ball baby blanket group.

Leave a Reply

