Stuff From All Over

Meh.  The end of another hot, sticky week at work.  Still not feeling extra blogalicious, but I do have a few things to share and it’s just not as much fun to keep them to myself even if they’re not particularly blogtacular.

Last weekend was complete and total knitstonage.  Kind of embarrassing how really knitstoned I was.  I left the house on Friday only because I felt like a loser for sitting on the couch and knitting the better half of the day.  So I went out, bought a coffee, a size 8 circ that I needed to start a project, and some sushi, and then promptly returned home to plant my ass on the couch for the remainder of the day until I decided I should probably go to bed before I feel asleep in mid-stitch.  I would say it was a waste, but I did finish one entire project that day that I’d been putting off for months, so it wasn’t a complete loss.  If you ask my thighs though, they might disagree.  I finished a total of 2 projects over the weekend (pics to come soon) but managed to start 2 times that many.  I think I have a problem.  I didn’t really start like, 4 new projects did I?  Needless to say, the knitstonage continued for 4 days while R. Darling was away running another marathon.

I finished a few more Warm Woolies projects toward my goal of 100 for the year.  We are up to 35 items now and I have a box packed with 18 items that will most likely get shipped out next week sometime.  I just couldn’t fit that last item in there without the box busting open of its own accord, so I figure it can go in with the next batch when they go out.  It’s silly, but it makes me feel good to already have one item to go into the next box.  And Item #36 is already on the needles.

 

Items #33 & #34 for Warm Woolies

Items #33 & #34 for Warm Woolies

Item #35 for Warm Woolies

Item #35 for Warm Woolies

 

O.k.  So I cheated a little with the vesty.  I actually knit that one last year but wasn’t sure if I liked how it turned out so I held on to it until now.  I blocked it this weekend and decided it wasn’t so bad after all and will send it in my next batch of items to go.  I did a funky little half-linen stitch action in it and it seemed to be pulling a little before blocking which I didn’t like.  But it seems cool now.  I’ve never thought much about using Lamb’s Pride for a sweater, but I have to admit, it feels ever so much softer and more appealing after blocking.  Hmmm…. may have to give that some more thought.

 

 

My tigridia is blooming again!  I had doubts as to whether these would survive the winter in my garden, but here they are to astound me yet again with their vivid beauty.  These flowers are like a secret that floats away on the breeze if you are not there to hear it whispered.  They will bloom and fade in one day of glory, which can be easily missed if you are not vigilant.  Last year I had a red one as well but so far I only see a clump of the yellow.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a lovely surprise sometime soon though.  This one stopped me in my tracks this morning when I did my quick before-work garden perusal.  I had no idea it was even close to blooming!  What a beautiful way to start my morning.

Tomorrow….. The Dark Knight!  I’ve been waiting.  And waiting.  And waiting.  Christian Bale has to be the best Batman evah.

Other than that, just hoping for more knitting!  Hope all of you have a lovely weekend doing whatever it is that makes you happiest ;) 

11 thoughts on “Stuff From All Over

  1. The Dark Knight. Cool. We really need to go to the theater soon. I think Indiana Jones is at the pub theater so that will most likely be our date night.

  2. You should never feel like a loser for sitting around knitting! You have something great to show for it afterward, after all – some ppl sit on the couch all day watching TV and have nothing to show for it!

    Thanks for the info on the blocking Lamb’s Pride – that is the yarn I’m using for Forecast (which is ALMOST done) and I wondered how it would be after I washed it.

  3. Hurray for a whole weekend of knitting! Good for you!

    As for Batman, I was always a Michael Keaton fan first. But Christian Bale might be edging him out. If only they make him less whiny this time around. Can’t stand whiny leading men.

  4. You are kicking arse with the Warm Woolies! I’ve decided I’m going to make bears for the Mother Bear Project. I am trying to get some WIP’s done first though. That way I can actually be productive!

  5. Cute vest. Starting many projects is in my blood. Even if you finish half, that’s an accomplishment in my book. Sometimes you’re more in the mood to start and other times more in the mood to finish. No apologies necessary. Your total is climbing! How exciting. Take care.

Leave a Reply

