Addled, I Tell You!

Clockwise from left:
Sheepfeet in Lilac, RYC Silk Wool DK in Brownstone, ShibuiKnits Silk Cloud #229 

 

Oh Fiddleheads!  What have you done to me?  I’m addled and rattled!  Smitten and bitten!  I love you and I don’t even know you!

Dammit if these aren’t going to be the.most.expensive. mittens on planet earth.  Would you pay $82 for a pair of mittens?  I thought not.  Unlike me, you are sane.  You are wise with your money, frugal perhaps.  You don’t let the good sense leak out of your noggin faster than you can whip out that gift card burning its way through your wallet.  Oh no.  Because you are not me, you wouldn’t spend $82 on a pair of mittens.  You would shop wisely; pet, yet refrain from temptation.  All I can say is, if you’re going to freak out on yarn fumes it’s a good idea to do it when you have a get out of jail free card (gift card) handy!  Though these are worth $82, they only really cost me about $40 ;)

I surprised myself today.  These are NOT my colors, NOT my price range, NOT well-thought out purchases.  But what the hell.  It’s a bright shiny day, I was amped up on coffee and good company (Hey Troy!) and everyone deserves a little spoilage now and then.

So why the Fiddlehead Fandago?  My bloggy friend over at Knit One Blog Too and I have started a Ravelry KAL to make a pair of these lovelies.  We’ll be starting November 1st and knitting until December 31st.  Adrian at HelloYarn will be knitting with us too so it’s a great opportunity to have some input from an expert.  Come join us!!  We’d love to have some company :)

 

P.S.  Stay away from that RYC Silk Wool DK and Sheepfeet if you know what’s good for you!

8 thoughts on “Addled, I Tell You!

  1. Wow! We’re not worthy, we’re not worthy! I don’t think I’ve ever purchased $82 of yarn for a sweater, much less mittens! I saw the posting about the KAL on the other blog. I’m thinking about joining along. I’ve never knitted mittens before, much less multi-color stuff, but they do look very appealing. I will see if I can find yarn from stash first.

  2. It’s good to step out of one’s comfort zone once in a while! I totally understand why you have fallen for these pretties: the colours you have chosen are lovely, and I bet the yarns are simply awesome to work with! You’ll end up with wonderful mittens, and I can’t wait to see them!

  3. Um…. how are these outside your color zone?

    Well I am so glad you are confident enough to attempt another pair of mittens and such a lovely pair to boot.

    I think I have only spent that much on a sweater.

  4. I looked up ‘addled’ and had to smile at a synonym listed: woolly-headed :) Your yarns look so pretty! I think you did well by splurging. Can’t wait to see your mittens!

Leave a Reply

