Warm Woolies Wednesday (The First In A Long Time!)…..

It’s a beautiful October evening out; fiery foliage, crisp air, golden twilight.  Anything could happen on a day like today.  The hush of evening finds me curled up inside the nest of my house and I love that there’s no pressure to be outside watering the garden, weeding, or doing anything other than what I’m doing right now.  How I love autumn!  I’m just finding it hard to believe that October is coming to a close in just one short week.  Where does the time go?  And where can I get more of it?

Speaking of disappearing time, I took a look back and it seems that my last Warm Woolies update was before my trip to Oregon in early September.  Yikes!  That seems so long ago!  And I guess it really is.  Things have happened, things haven’t happened.  But one thing remains the same:  I’m still knitting for Warm Woolies whether I’ve been talking about it or not. 

 

My first Warm Woolies Oddball Baby Blanket - "Lemon Zinger"

"Lemon Zinger"

 
A while ago I joined a Ravelry group called Warm Woolies Baby Oddball Blankets, in which members each knit a portion of a baby blanket that is then sent on to Warm Woolies.  It sounded like lots of fun and a great way to use up the random acrylic that I have floating around the house.  Just before I left on my Oregon trip I received my first blankie called “Lemon Zinger”.  Dutifully, I brought it with me on my trip and completed my 6″ portion the first two days I was away.  Even though I’m not knitting these blankies all by myself, I am still contributing to a finished item so I’m counting them in my total :)  I’ve got another one waiting in the wings for me right now and guess what?  It’s called “Pretty In Pink”!  Can’t wait to start that one!  Surprise, surprise.

A couple weeks ago I mailed off another package to Warm Woolies containing 11 items (2 vests, 5 hats & 4 pairs of socks).  Usually they are pretty prompt about sending a postcard to let you know that they’ve received your items, but I haven’t gotten one yet and I’m starting to worry a little.  So I’m going to have to dig out the receipt with the confirmation info and see if I can track it down.  I have another box waiting to go that has 14 pairs of socks in it right now, bringing my total for the year up to 60 items.  Not very near my goal of 100 but I’m feeling, at this point, that if I reach 80 by the end of the year that that will be pretty darn good.  I feel bad crapping out like that, but even though I won’t likely reach 100 I will still be knitting until the end no matter what.  Hopefully an “A” for effort counts for something in the good karma bank!

I’ve also had 2 lovely Warm Woolies related packages over the last couple months.  I returned home from Oregon to find my prize package from Warm Woolies in my held mail.  It was so exciting to open it up and see what they’d sent me!  Though I don’t knit to receive anything in return, it was still fun to have a little treat arrive from them :)  I guess since I knit them so many socks they figured out that I like socks and sent me tons of sock yarn (6 hanks!).  I have no idea what I’ll make with any of it, but it’s fun to add to the stash!  Take a peek……

Lots-n-lotsa sock yarn!

Lots-n-lotsa sock yarn!

 
The yellow stuff is about 1600 yds of pale yellow laceweight wool (generically labeled).  Anyone have any ideas about what to make out of it?  I don’t do shawls, but I would consider a stole I guess if it was pretty enough.

My second package came just a few days ago from my blogfree (but soon to be Ravelite?) friend Kathy.  What a lovely box filled with piles of yarn for Warm Woolies from her stash (time to clean up I guess ;)  and a few interesting books as well as a lovely ball of sock yarn for my birthday.  Thanks so much Kathy!!  I will be sure to post pics of my WW items as soon as I have the chance to dive into it, and I appreciate so much your thoughtfulness and generosity!

Had enough?  Whew!  I think I have :)  Hopefully the next update will be a little more brief so you, and I, can spend a little less time reading and a little more time curled up in our respective cozy nests knitting!

 

************

P.S. ~ WordPress is being a little b-hotch tonight so I’m afraid the formatting in my post looks funny and is going to stay that way.  It’s bugging the crap out of me but I’m too tired to keep fighting with it.  Better luck next time!

4 thoughts on “Warm Woolies Wednesday (The First In A Long Time!)…..

  1. I love the concept of the blankets and even the names are luscious. What a fun idea. I might have to try it. Pretty in pink….hope you show a picture of that one too.

    I say you should be extremely proud of 80 out of 100. And most likely you will get to 100 very soon in the new year.

  2. What a great package from WW! I had hoped to get the 25 items done before the end of Nov, but I’m not sure I’ll finish in time. I have 5 things done, and while I”m quick with the baby socks, 20 prs seems like a LOT! LOL

  3. Did warmwoolies take their site down? I was knitting up a box of things too and checked the site periodically. Now it’s gone.
    Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

