Something Scarfish This Way Comes

What is it about WIP’s?  Why do I feel I must keep them secret until they are full fledged FO’s?  Maybe it’s because I am too dang lazy to take in-progress photos.  I mean, how exactly do I pose a half inch of knitting?  Would it even look different to you?  Maybe I like to feel I am cultivating an aura of mystery by keeping you guessing what I am working on (nah.).  More likely it is the feeling that if I admit that I have started something, you, thoughtful bloggy peeps that you are, will ask me how it’s going.  And all I’ll be able to say is – wha?

So I can wager that most of you didn’t know I was working on a scarf for R. Darling for our 4th anniversary (which was September 26th).  Though I have had the yarn and pattern for this scarf for freakin’ ages, and though R. Darling picked the pattern out himself, I still managed to make it a surprise by not telling him that I had decided to make this for him (finally).  I started it in August over several weekends where he was running marathons or kayaking or some such.  Then I dragged it with me to Orgeon and worked on it for the entire train trip down south (about 6 hours or so), and for an entire day inside our tent at the Nehalem Camp Ground near Manzanita, OR where we were staying during his kayak building class.  I knit.  And I knit.  And I knit some more.  And the damn thing never grew, I swear.  Next time I decide to double knit a 6 foot long scarf, restrain me.  Do whatever it takes to keep me from repeating this folly!  Just as I was getting bo-red with this tiresome thing, I realized it was only about 2 weeks until our anniversary and I had better get that fire under my ass lit or I was not going to have a gifty to give him on our big day.  Feverishly, I knit all my lunch hours away at work (when we were slow enough to get an hour), and on September 25 I finished the last few rows and resigned myself to the fact that I was going to have to wrap R. Darling’s scarf up with the yarn still attached.  As crappy as that felt, it was wonderfully worth it when he opened up his gift and his eyes lit up.  Double knitting torture? For my man?  Bring it on!

 

Notice how Mr. Wonderful is completely unafraid of wearing 2 hand knits at once!

 

Pattern: Recycled Scarf by Mary-Heather Cogar from Greetings From Knit Cafe (pattern on Ravelry here)

Yarn: MC #1- Knit One Crochet Too 2nd Time Cotton in Irish Linen (approximately 1.5 skeins); MC #2 – Knit One Crochet Too 2nd Time Cotton in Glacier (approximately 1.5 skeins); CC – Knit One Crochet Too 2nd Time Cotton in Istanbul (approximately 0.5 skeins);

Needles: Size 8 addi turbos

Mods: Zip. Zero. Nada.

New Techniques: My first time double-knitting an item.

Time Lapse:  August 9, 2008 – October 13, 2008

Comments: I was really intimidated by the idea of double-knitting at first, so that’s probably why it took me so long to sit down and just start the thing already.  But after the first couple of repeats I didn’t need the instructions anymore to know where I was in the pattern.  I developed a few little mental tricks to help me figure out where I was and that helped a lot.  That being said, you really do have to pay attention to what you’re doing even if it is only stockinette.  There were a couple times where I started the first stitch slipping the color the wrong way, or knitting/purling the wrong color and as a result, there are about 3 small mistakes on the edge of the scarf.  It was only 1 stitch each time and the two main colors are close enough that it’s not overtly obvious.  I wasn’t too keen on going back and ripping my double-knitting, especially as it was taking for-freaking-ever and I was on a deadline.  So the mistakes stayed.  R. Darling knows they’re there only because I told him so, he can’t really see them :)  The other issue I had was with the stitches on the side “seams” being too loose on certain rows of the pattern.  I tried everything I could to fix this, but I was never able to figure out how.  To me, this looked terrible, but once blocked things evened out a little and it’s not so obvious anymore.  I feel this is probably the most amateur-ish looking thing I’ve ever knit, but R. Darling adores it and wears it voluntarily (no coaxing!), so that’s good enough for me.  He’s worth all the time and sweat I put into this thing!

 

Mr. Wonderful hates having his photo taken!

 

 

I love this big smile!!

10 thoughts on “Something Scarfish This Way Comes

  1. Looks great! I’ve yet to try double knitting but I always thought it was a neat technique. LOL at “cultivating an aura of mystery”…you have a way with words, for sure!

  2. What a great picture with his beautiful smile! Looks like you have laid the gauntlet now for me to try this technique as well…Thank you for sharing this one!

  3. I can understand why your man looks so happy! Very nice scarf and hat. The shades of the had are awesome. It must have been fun and exciting to knit! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

