Dashing

Hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  We had our very own holiday meal for just the two of us at home on Friday and it was totally relaxing and perfect.  Hope your weekend was too!

Remember that thing I said about not knitting any Christmas gifties this year (here)?  Well, I ended up breaking down and knitting one after all.  See, I think I found my Mom’s handknit achilles heel.  She’s a sucker for fingerless mitts all of a sudden.  Can’t seem to get enough of ’em.  And now she wants Dad to have ’em too.  I’m skeptical he’ll be down with the fingerless mitts (hates things on his hands and does NOT wear sweaters or knit items at all. Ever.) but I do think he could use a pair if he could just get over his initial doubt.  So, fingerless mitts for Dad, here we go! 

 

dashing1

 

PatternDashing by Cheryl Niamath (on Ravelry here)

Yarn: Plymouth Yarn Encore Worsted color #1444 (most of 1 skein)

Needles: Size 7 bamboo dpn’s & size 8 for BO

Mods: Just lenthened the portion above the thumb to 22 rnds instead of 18 for a little extra length

New Techniques: Nope.

Time Lapse:  October 24, 2008 – November 6, 2008

Comments:  Love this pattern!  But, naturally, hate this yarn.  As usual, I had to buy a mostly acrylic yarn so that Mom can wash these in the washing machine.  Yes, I know there are now washable wools, but there is no convincing my mother that they are soft enough against your skin.  She has a wool prejudice.  Whatever.  As long as these keep Dad’s hands warm and Mom can machine wash them, then they’re all happy and that’s what counts.  A super easy, super fast knit that looks nice.  Happy Christmas!

 

************

 

Hope everyone had a great weekend!  And hope that all of your Christmas knitting (if you chose to do some) is going well :)

8 thoughts on “Dashing

  1. Oooh ooooh I lurv these sooo much. I’ve got a few non-wool family members as well so I feel your pain. Acrylic or not….they are absolutely lovely!

  2. Dashing looks great. Hey, I cured someone of a wool prejudice not long ago, and I didn’t even do it in person. It was my admin’s husband – I taught her to knit and her first project is Cobblestone for her husband. He was QUITE apprehensive about wool, until she showed it to him and he realized how soft it was. People have traumas from previous experiences with scratchy Lopi-esque wool, that’s all. They just need to be educated.

  3. Love the color of those! I made a pair of Dashing for a friend this Christmas, and I think I’ll have to make a pair for myself.

Leave a Reply

