Let’s Talk About Stash

Let’s talk about stash bay-bee,

Let’s talk about yarn for “free”,

Let’s talk about all the good things and the bad things that may be,

Let’s talk ab-out stash. Let’s talk about stash!*

*Sing to the tune of Salt ‘n Pepa’s “Let’s Talk About Sex”


It may not look like much, but that's only about a quarter of my stash....

It may not look like much, but that's only about a quarter of my stash....

 

I’ve been thinking about my stash a lot lately. Maybe it’s because the rat party (no, not Ratt party, ’cause that might be awesome) going on in the walls at night has driven us from our cozy bedroom into the guest room, or Yarn Room as R. Darling likes to call it. Sleeping in the Yarn Room for the last week has brought me face to face with the excesses of my fibery addiction. (If you are R. Darling, skip this part and start reading again at the end) Surrounded on all sides by boxes and bags of yarn, while the stuff of dreams for me, could be a nightmare when thought of in terms of money spent, and ultimately, wasted. It makes my tummy ache just a little. Each night, threading my way through boxes of yarn I mostly can’t remember buying, brings me one step closer to wondering why I can’t control myself in the face of new, “better” yarn, whenever I go to the LYS or click across the intrawebs. I’ve been pondering my “problem” for a while now and with all the crap we’ve been dealing with lately (I’ll spare you the gory details other than to say, it’s the type of anxiety that even knitting can’t make better), it’s become evident that I should stay as far away as possible from yarn I might be tempted to cheat on my stash with.

To keep me true to my wish, no my need, to work from stash lest I find myself homeless with 6 giant rubbermaid tubs of yarn to carry around in my homeless person shopping cart, I have made it my solemn task for 2009 to knit from my stash as much as possible. That’s not to say I won’t ever buy new yarn in 2009 – I mean, that’s why they make gift cards and birthdays! – but I’m going to make a solid effort to cool it. Like every addict, it helps to have the company of others with like-mined goals. With special thanks to Amy for the links, I’ve joined the Stash Knit Down 2009 group on Ravelry, and checked in with the Queue Knit Down & Personal Sock Club threads. Here’s to hoping they can help me stay cheat-on-my-stash-free in the upcoming year!

 

And with that, I’ll leave you with one more retro flashback that I’ll bet you won’t be able to quit humming all day (you know you want to!):

Stash Stash Baby

dun dun dun dun duh-duh dun dun

What’s in your stash stash baby

dun dun dun dun duh-duh dun dun*

*sing to the tune of Vanilla Ice’s “Ice Ice Baby” – don’t even fake like you don’t know that one….

************

BTW: My computer seems to be having a little retro flashback of its own with speeds to rival the dial-up days. Needless to say, using the intrawebs, e-mail, or pretty much opening and closing anything on my computer is about as painful as driving hot nails into my eyes lately. So if you don’t hear from me as much, it’s only because I don’t have 2 hours to wrestle with my computer at the moment, but I promise I’ll get back to you. Eventually. Someday. Maybe by 2010. But I will ;)

13 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Stash

  1. Good luck. I was thinking about joining the stash down too to get rid of my single skeins of mystery.

    Part of my face the stash this year is to enter it all into ravelry. Eep…. tis a scary thought, but I will be selling some of it too.

  2. I covet all that pink you have in your stash. I’d have to say that mine is a mostly blue stash with streaks of green.

    I’ve been sort of thinking of my excess of stash lately too. I may have to be a copycat and join you in some of the destashing. I just bought the 101 Luxury One Skein Wonder book so maybe that will help move some of the single skeins along.

  3. Just wrote a very similar resolution myself! I don’t have much of a stash yet… but I’d like to nip the problem in the bud before it even becomes one :)

    Happy knitting :)

  4. Your addiction is nothing compared to my Yak addiction. But knowing you have your own addiction to makes me feel less guilty about mine. So pay no attention to the kayak that will be on the truck Friday :)

  5. I’m witih you. Like all the pink! You know it’s bad when you can’t find clothes in your closet because of all the bags of yarn…. I am knitting ten, yes ten, pairs of mittens with stash only. I also made a vow to only buy yarn at JoAnn’s with coupons for charity knitting. Maybe we should have a stash trade? Instead of a swap, send stash. This might be a good New Year’s thing to do.

  6. I had a boyfriend in high school who loved vanilla ice so much he shaved his hair in exactly the same way and copied all his dance moves. What a goob! Your vanilla ice song is far better than the original and I’m sure the ex would agree! Hee hee! Good luck with the stash reduction. Here’s a song that describes my feelings for my stash. “all I do is knit with you…day and night that’s all I do…I can’t get you off my mind. Knit with you aaall the time..alll the time. Ooo oooo. (troop-all I do is think of you) ha…I just made myself laugh. :-)

  7. Love your new words for the late 80s/early 90s songs! I may join that 2009 knit from stash group myself. I’ve been pretty good lately but I have no need to buy yarn for quite a long time.

  8. Now I’ll be singing those songs for the next week! I realized I had a stash problem when the Boy opened my closet and he was attacked by it….he was literally covered from head to toe.

    Good luck, sound like something I should consider, seriously.

  9. Yes I hear you on the stash and hopefully you can knit a lot of it down. I joined Ravelry’s Stash Down back in July, but I never got the hang of how many yards I used. I think I”m going to keep track of how much weight is used instead.

  10. Pingback: Sockses & Sock Clubs & Such « Knittymuggins

  11. But I read somewhere that you can never have too much yarn or lingerie ;) You are in great shape having such a stash because now you don’t have to spend money on more. And what if there’s a yarn prohibition? You’re covered :) Seriously though, I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing stressful stuff.

Leave a Reply

