Squiggle! A Test Knit Revealed

A long time ago, in a season far far away, I showed you this:


watermelon-malabrigo1


My first ever MMMmmmmalabrigo!  I promised you I’d show you what I made of it when the time was right.  Well, that time has finally come!

Behold the Squiggles!


squiggle-hat-side-close1

squiggle-hat-side1


Something a little artsy:


squiggle-hat-artsy1


And a matching cowl:


squiggle-cowl1a

squiggle-cowl2a


Patterns: Squiggle Hat & Squiggle Cowl by Chris Church (on Ravelry: Hat here, Cowl here).  More info and details on purchasing on Chris’ blog and website Pursuit of Fiber.

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Molly (pink shade) & Saphire Green; Cowl:  approximately 0.4 hanks Molly; Hat:  approximately 0.4 hanks Molly for band and 0.5 hanks Saphire Green for crown.

Needles: Cowl: Size 8 bamboo straights; Hat: Size 8 bamboo straights for band, size 7  – 16″ addi turbos for crown, & size 7 bamboo dpn’s for closing.

Mods: None.  That’s a big no no on test knits!

New Techniques: Nope.

Time Lapse: Cowl: October 10, 2008 – October 13, 2008; Hat: October 19, 2008 – October 23, 2008

Comments: Love love love these patterns! I’m calling it my Jolly Rancher hat because the colors are so bright & juicy. My first time using Malabrigo and I can see now what the fuss is all about. The pattern was easy to follow and I adore how the hat fits. Don’t be discouraged if it looks smallish before you block it. It does stretch and it will fit great. As for the cowl, I love how it fits your neck just right with a dip below the chin. Be very careful to match your row gauge perfectly, or it might be a bit snug. I know my row gauge drifted a bit from my swatching to my actual project. Both winners! Go check them out & tell rchrispy I sent you ;)


And, as always, an outtake!


squiggle-hat-outtake11

15 thoughts on “Squiggle! A Test Knit Revealed

  1. Happy New Year Knittymuggins! Have a good one! I love the colors of that yarn! Both patterns look great! But what is that last photo?

  2. I forgot to mention that Santa has fallen behind in the mailing of gifts… the holidays have completely kicked this particlular elf’s butt. It should be in the mail this week. :)

  3. Mmmmmm. Malabrigo. Cute stuff! I hope your holiday was great and that the potato is keeping all of your worries outside in the ground where they belong! Happy New Year! :)

  4. Love the pictures of you :-) Perfect name for the hat, too! Oh, and can I tell you SO many people have commented on that picture I took of the hat you knitted for me…at least three folks want one and of course, are willing to pay you!

  5. I love this set…and done in Malabrigo. I do have a skein of Saphire Green in my stash…now only if I could magically make another color appear! (Sticking to my stash diet..for realz)!

  6. Cute photos! Love the outtake! Those patterns are very nice. Striking colors…I think a deep red paired with brown would look great on you too!

Leave a Reply

