Stink. Doesn’t Stink.

Sniff.  Sniffsniffsniff.  Sniiiii-fffff. Yep.  I smell like wet pencil shavings sprinkled with coconut.  I guess that’s what happens when you decide it’s finally time to destash your bath and body baskets.  Oh yes.  There is more than one.  See, not only do I indiscriminately hoard yarn, I also seem to be under the impression that I must buy every half-priced beauty item that I stumble upon, perhaps out of some fear that the world will end and I’ll be caught as the last woman on the planet reeking of BO and without a steady stream of smell-good-stuff to redeem myself.  Usually I stick to a few favorite, tried and tested flavors.  But every once in a while I make an attempt at branching out and come home with something new.  Hence, the wet pencil shavings (which is actually Bath & Body Works’ discontinued flavor: White Tea & Ginger).  Sometimes, one of my flavors will go “off” in storage, and rather than throw the offender out, I will attempt to live with the hideous smell until it’s gone.  Let’s see, that would be the last two months I’ve spent smelling like sketchy ice cream when I should have been smelling like Victoria’s Secret’s Tahitian Vanilla Flower.  Perhaps it is only I, that senses these strange scents don’t smell right on my skin.  R. Darling never fails to tell me I smell good even when I am quite certain that I don’t.  What smells “sugary sweet” to him, smells like something entirely different to me.
 
But even if I stink, there is something I have to (finally) show you which absolutely doesn’t.  May I present a completed 28thirty for your non-sniffing pleasure…….
 

28thirty-back1

 

28thirty-front1

 

28thirty-side1

 

Pattern: 28thirty by Zephyr Style (on Ravelry here)

Yarn: Filtes King Koala – pretty much exactly 8 skeins in color #703

Needles: Size 8 bamboo circ

Mods: Worked only 2″ of K2,P2 pattern on cuffs (instead of 4″), added an extra buttonhole and an extra 4 rounds of K2, P2 pattern at bottom edge of sweater.

New Techniques: Nope.

Time Lapse: June 9, 2008 – February 20, 2009 (Oy!)

Comments: This sweater languished for way too long in my knitting UFO pile before I finally picked it up again around the beginning of Febuary 2009.  What can I say?  It shouldn’t have taken me nearly this long to complete something so ultimately wearable and enjoyable to knit!  Somewhere along the way I’d gotten distracted, couldn’t make head or tails of my poorly written notes, and had kept putting it aside.  Well, as 2009 is the year in which I hope to finish up my stray UFO’s, I figured it was time!
 
I adore this sweater!  As my very first completed long-sleeved sweater, I find this one ultimately more useful than the short-sleeved ones I’ve previously knit.  I’m always cold.  Always.  So what better way to warm up than with a long-sleeved beauty like this?  I love the little, simple details: the purl ridges on the sleeves, the cowl neck, the cute cropped shape, and the perfect fit.  And of course, that pink!   Though the yarn is a bit shoddy, the color was just too perfect to resist when I saw it that first time.  My only gripe is that the cowl neck doesn’t really lay as I would like it to, but I noticed that if I unbutton a few of the buttons it will unflop itself and lay nicely.   So happy to have finally finished this one!
 
So sorry, but there are no outtakes this time :(  In case you can’t tell, I have had a nasty cold since last Thursday and in these photos I actually feel like ass warmed over, so there was no hamming it up for the camera as I usually do.  So sad.  But I promise one next time!

12 thoughts on “Stink. Doesn’t Stink.

  1. Ass warmed over….creates quite a visual! I absolutely love this one….Great Job!

    I also have a few of those scents that are ‘off’, and I, like you, attempt to live with it until it’s gone….

  2. Love your 28Thirty!! The pink is so beautiful on you!! I too have a half-priced beauty product obsession. Although lately I have become very frugal with my spending habits, but who can resist coconut mango mint passion? LOL

  3. Manifique! Love the style and double love the color. It looks fabulous on you. Thanks for sharing even though you weren’t feeling well. It is better to look good than to feel good… Get better soon.

  4. Pencil shavings and coconut? That phrase had me laughing so hard I spit water all over the keyboard! I’m a lotion/potion hoarder just like you. Can’t help myself. 5 for $10? I’ll take ’em. Even if I don’t need them. The sweater is fab. Great colour for you.

  5. Very pretty! It’s classic, but like you say, it has some very interesting details that make it anything but boring. The color is beautiful! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

