Do You Feel It Too?

The first week after springing forward in time always leaves me feeling disoriented.  I’m not tired when I should be, I’m tired when I shouldn’t be, the sensation that things are always sliding just out of my reach prickles at my skin.  Mornings dawn dark and lonely instead of cheerful and promising.  My mind, unsettled, spills its contents into the nighttime air.  Snatches of song, pieces of lists, images and memories swirl around my fitful body as I try to grasp each one and put it to rest.  But they elude my sleepy fingers, seeking refuge in the inky corners of my room, only to return again once the moon has risen.  I think perhaps my terrier feels this slipping sensation that I feel, but when I ask him he only licks my face and wags his tail.

10 thoughts on “Do You Feel It Too?

  1. I put it simply as: “I feel like crap first thing in the morning”! When they changed the springing forward date to be a little earlier about 2 years ago, I was coping. Then last year, they made it earlier and it took me 3 weeks to recover. Now it seems even earlier this year, but I’m not sure. I know it will take at least 3 weeks to recover.

  2. I feel disoriented on a daily basis-It’s scary how used to it I am. I think that’s why I knit every day-I always have control over that one aspect of my life. Was the snow a good or bad thing-did it make the spring forward worse, or distract us from it?

  3. I HATE this daylight savings crap. It stays lighter longer so next thing you know it’s 7:00 and I haven’t made dinner yet. Before I started dinner when it was just beginning to get dark. Not anymore! I hate it!

  4. The only good things about Daylight Savings Time is that it’s still dark when I get home from work, so I fall asleep better!

  5. I know how you feel! I wish we could stay on one time schedule. I know that a few states already don’t switch, so why can’t the whole US be like that?

    Things will return to “normal” soon….keeping fingers crossed…

Leave a Reply

