Ocean Waves

So check it. I finally finished my first sweater for the Warm Woolies 10 for 10 by 2010 Challenge.  I decided, for now, that I don’t like how small the clickable pics were in the last post, so I’m back to the what you see is what you get images I had before.  I will probably try to mess around some more with the formatting, but I’ll keep you posted.

Maybe it’s the holiday weekend, or maybe it’s just that I’m so bone-tired these past couple weeks that I can barely stay awake long enough to go to work and go home, but I’m not feeling super chatty.  No funny vignettes to report or kooky goings on to share.  But I figure, I got an FO, so I should totally post it before I forget to.  Then, maybe I’ll go get myself some more coffee and try to make myself useful.  Laundry and dishes await.
 
 
ocean waves1a
 
ocean waves2a
 

Pattern: Ocean Waves by Peggy Boisvert (on Ravelry here)

Yarn: About 4.6 skeins of Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky in “Blue Heirloom”

Needles: Size 10.5 – 24″ & 16″ bamboo circulars

Mods: Hmmm….. this pattern is more of a “recipe” so I guess that I probably kind of modified it a lot in the sense that I just did whatever I wanted to the whole time; magic looped the sleeves

New Techniques: This was a Percentage System sweater which was totally new to me, so I learned a lot about that as I went along

Time Lapse: April 5, 2009 – May 13, 2009

Comments: This pattern was definitely “pithy” as it is self-described by the creator.  I had to do quite a bit of math and figuring out of the Percentage System (this article was invaluable), as well as guesstimation of what size would fit a 10-15 year old (How long to make the body? How long to make the arms?  Would it fit?).  Though I found that sort of annoying at first (I’m very much a “tell me exactly what to do” kind of gal) it was also sort of liberating once I’d figured out how to do it myself.  And when the sweater turned out to be something that actually looked like a sweater that might kind of fit someone, I felt just the wee-est bit proud of myself.  I might actually make another sweater using this system in the future as it was kind of fun to go patternless once the initial fear was over.  This will be my first sweater for the Warm Woolies 2010 challenge and I’ve got to make at least 4 more to qualify.  When I connected the sleeves to the body, I knit about 1.5″ straight before starting my decreases which kind of elongated the body and placed the cable further down on the sweater than I think is aesthetically pleasing. But I did it because Warm Woolies requested extra room in the underarms so the kids can wear many layers underneath their sweaters, and not enough room in that spot could cause the layers to bind up uncomfortably. I guess it won’t matter if the sweater fits with extra length since they practically wear them as coats anyway, but I’m not sure I like how it looks visually. But that’s just me. On a side note, I bought this yarn as seconds from a site I found a while back and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised.  I expected tons and tons of knots, and out of the 5 skeins I used only the first ball had any knots at all.  Granted, it had like 3 or so, but I expected them all to be like that.  Just sayin’.  I will probably be more likely to buy yarn from there again next time now that I know what to expect.
 
And, because I got nothin’ else to say and it’s always fun to do, here’s the Friday Fill-In a day late:

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Friday Fill-In #125
(get yours here)
 

1. Moving is always a great time to get rid of things you don’t need or want anymore (including old boyfriends).

2. Love is free.

3. My best quality is modesty? Or maybe sympathy for others.

4. Don’t sweat the details.

5. In nearly 10 years, I will be way older than I even want to think about.

6. Another massage and some soft serve ice cream is what I need right now!

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to hanging out with my man, tomorrow my plans include maybe going to Seattle with Miami and Monday, I want to knit knit knit!

 

Hope you all have a wonderful holiday weekend!  Eat an extra grilled food of your choice for me :)

 

And… an outtake!  No makeup, wet hair, gah!  It’s so scary I can’t believe I’m sharing :)  But check it out – my sweater fits!  Even if the arms are a bit short……

 

ocean waves outtake1

11 thoughts on “Ocean Waves

  1. It’s so cute-what a nice thing to make and donate! I love the ribbibg at the bottom, the design, and the neck. You look good in the pic-I like you hair. I want to make a WW sweater now!

  2. That sweater turned out really nice! You did a great job, esp if you had to figure out all the details yourself. I’m with you on that one, tell me when to knit, how many to knit, and for how long.

  3. Damn I wish I looked that good without make-up. I resemble a zombie from “Night of the Living Dead” when I’m sans cosmetics. Love the sweater. The recipient will be very happy and warm. :)

  4. Very nice sweater! Love the waves! You don’t look bad without makeup at all – the other day I did a test shot with my camera remote to make sure it was working (before I’d put makeup on) and I practically scared myself.

Leave a Reply

