Growing Up Is Hard To Do

Something weird happened on Saturday.  We traded in my cute little Volvo S40 (aka Zippy) and got ourselves a Volvo XC70 Station Wagon.  Yeah, you heard me – station wagonOn purpose.  And even worse, we like it.  A lot.  Craps.  I think I might have just become a grown-up.  It’s all downhill from here.
 

The New Shaggin' Wagon


 
What’s funny is, we feel entirely irresponsible for buying it.  The S40 was almost paid off and now we have saddled ourselves with a car payment for the next 6 years.  But the car seat was seriously not fitting in Zippy and the stroller was a major squeeze to get it into the trunk.  So here we are.  I immediately named the new car Bruno, which R. Darling hated, so we’ve changed it to Deuce (as in my second Volvo, and the second new-to-me car we’ve gotten since we got married).  But secretly, I’m still calling him Bruno.  What better name for a meaty guy that’s hired to protect you at all costs?  I still have yet to do much other than test drive it as R. Darling is seriously in love with the thing, but you know me.  I’m not keen on driving anyway, so I’ll have my chance soon enough.
 
No New Year’s resolutions to report.  I’m going to be posting soon about 101 Things in 1001 Days, which I’m sure you’ve seen around and/or heard about.  I’m working on my list and checking it twice.  Believe it or not, it’s kinda hard to think of 101 meaningful things to do and I can’t cop out and say, “do less of this or that” or, “do more of whatchamacallit” because everything is supposed to be quantitative so you have an actual end result.  But I think I’m up to 95 or something so it will be up soon.
 
Other than that, knitting knitting knitting and getting my insides kicked to high heaven :)  It’s all good!

11 thoughts on “Growing Up Is Hard To Do

  1. This is the perfect car for a family! When you have a child, you’ve got too much to juggle already to add struggling with fitting stuff in the car to the equation.

    I have heard about the 101 thing in 1001 days a little while ago. It sounds pretty interesting, and a good way to focus on what’s important to you – if the list is done carefully. It sounds like that’s what you’re doing, and I’m really curious to see what you’ll be focusing on achieving for the next little while!

  2. Hello Bruno ;-) Wow! Your neighbors must be thinking that you want a huge family ;-)

    A list of 101 things? It’s the first time I hear about it, but I’m sure it’s a great exercise! Have a good week!

  3. 101 Things in 1001 days….
    – spend upteen hours staring at your beautiful baby.
    – Count the fingers and toes 3 times, just to be sure
    – Snuggle your face into their neck and be amazed once again at the baby smell.
    – 7-10 hours rocking your baby in the middle of the night the first week of life.
    -500 tears will be shed the first time you pack away the 0-3 month size clothes.
    – 2 hats will be knit in just the right shade for your baby’s skin (because really, who has time for more?)
    Should I keep going? :) I like the wagon – we went the SUV route, but that was because of the snow we get here.

  4. I hadn’t heard about the 101 Things thing – interesting. I like station wagons better than minivans – those are just ugly. And it’s a Volvo, which I’ve never owned, but I really liked the ride on the one that I rented a few years back. I bet it has a comfy ride and is fun to drive.

  5. This is seriously my favorite vehicle. Every time I pass one, I drool a bit and start to daydream! Alas, Tom and I have a rule, no car payments, and that means no new cars. (unless they are under 5K!) You, baby and Rodger will be safe……….

  6. That is one of the coolest family cars out there! We name our cars too… Joe’s is ‘Bertha’ because it is the biggest car either of us have ever owned, and mine is ‘Grandma’ because I drive like a granny & it scolds you if you do something wrong while you’re driving. Hee hee.

  7. I think its a great car and I love the name. I’ve always wanted a Volvo. I’ve heard they’re very dependable and sturdy. Exactly what you need with a little one.

  8. LOVE the grown up car! Part of raising munchkins is having one, so getting it now before you need it is very respectable! Enjoy! And I like Bruno better than Deuce…

Leave a Reply

