Hey Homeskillet

Well my list of 101 things in 1001 days that I mentioned the other day is up and ready (check the tab up top for a static link).  I decided I’d make my start date January 1, 2010 just for convenience, though I’m not officially posting it until today.  Though not particularly self-edifying or inspiring (no summiting of Everest, or winning an Oscar, on the list here), my list does encompass quite a lot of things I’ve been meaning to do for quite some time.  There’s a mix of things easily accomplished and things somewhat more difficult to achieve.  And though you’ll notice “Grow a munchkin” is on there and I quite technically started that process last year, I don’t count that one as fully completed until Knittymunchkin is here safe and sound :)  Have fun looking it over and laughing (yes, some of it will likely strike you as goofy) and rest assured I’ll be reporting to you on my progress as I work my way towards completing everything.
 
First stop – “Try 10 new recipes”.  I should probably have made it more challenging and said 100 recipes or something, but we’ll shoot for 10 and see what happens.  I mean, pretty soon I’ll be feeding a baby every 2 hours and cooking will seem like a distant memory. Hear that honey?
 

Frango no leite


 
There’s a lovely little restaurant in Victoria, B.C. that we discovered purely by accident on our first visit to the city.  Hungry and on foot, we stumbled across Santiago’s as we walked from our hotel across the street toward the waterfront.  Boasting a South American menu, brilliantly colored surroundings, and strings of twinkling white lights inside, we could almost envision ourselves sitting in an outdoor cafe in Brazil with city life and scrumptious smells swirling around us.  That first time we ate there twice in 2 days, and every time we go back we make sure to stop in for at least one meal.  On our last visit (for our 5th anniversary this past September) we spotted a cookbook as we were walking in and asked the waitress about it.  It was a bit pricey, but the food was just so amazing that we had to have the recipes to make it for ourselves when we returned home.  I believe I mentioned that was in September?
 
Fast forward to Sunday night (January 17).  What better way to kick off my 101 things in 1001 days journey than with a new recipe from one of our favorite places?  I chose the Frango No Leite (this is most definitely not Spanish that I recognize; perhaps Portuguese?) because that’s the dish I usually order when we dine there, and then made Santiago’s Rice to go with it.  The rice is made with coconut milk and it was definitely interesting to go back to the old school way of making it in a saucepan rather than a rice cooker.  I had visions of burnt caked on rice having to be scrubbed off the bottom of the saucepan afterwards, but no such thing.  It came out perfect and the house smelled divine (who doesn’t love the smell of coconut?).  For the Frango No Leite, as the recipe is Canadian (and therefore metric), I had to do some mini-calculations.  As well, the spicing combination is made for a huge batch of chicken, while the cooking portion of the recipe is made for a one-dish preparation.  So there were some conversions to be worked out there too.  Overall though, I think it came out nearly exactly like the dish at the restaurant if only a tad spicy (too much cayenne pepper; next time I’ll half it).  A perfect blend of lemon, cream, tomato & chicken.  Yum!  Not bad for coming from the homeskillet ;) And the best part? R. Darling gave it a 10 before he remembered that nothing in our house gets a 10 unless it’s served sans clothing. So I guess this one’s a winner!
 
And now we’re officially on our way!

10 thoughts on “Hey Homeskillet

  1. I’m full of obnoxious baby advice… make up a few of your favorite meals now (while you’re in nesting mode) and store them in your freezer. Lasagna, casseroles, enchiladas, etc. Then, when R-Darling is working late or gets called out (ask me how I know) you’ll have dinner when you need it. There’s only so much peanut butter a person can eat while nursing. Plus, babies seem to always be fussy while you’re making dinner.

  2. Trying new recipes is a great idea for an item on your list, and it looks like you’re off to a good start on that one! Seeing how successful your first try turned out to be, I bet you’ll make it to way more than 10 before the 1001 days are over…
    I’ve only been to Victoria once, and only for a couple of days, but that was enough for me to find (and fall in love with) ReBar, go twice in two days, and yes, I came back with the cookbook too! :)

  3. I visited Victoria once a number of years ago when my friend Patti was going to grad school in Seattle. It’s gorgeous there! That dish sounds fabulous too. I had to chuckle at the “nothing getting a 10 unless it’s served sans clothing” part. Hmmm, maybe that’s why my cooking hasn’t been getting 10s.

  4. Congrats on starting the list. I have decided that, better late than never, to start one too! I’m glad that you were realistic when you said ten new recipes with the munchkin due….

Leave a Reply

