In For The Long Haul

Just chillin'


 
Hard to believe that Little Mister has been with us for close to 2 weeks now.  He gets a bit stronger every day and I’m constantly amazed by what a little personality he has already developed.  I never would have guessed how deeply I could fall in love with someone else (other than R. Darling) in such a short period of time.  Oh sure, people told me that would happen, but I found it hard to believe the quality and strength of that bond could emerge so quickly.  I could lose hours just staring at his sleeping face and it kills me to have to leave him in the nursery each night to go home.  He already knows my voice and his eyes search my face when I hold him.  I watch each expression ravenously, soaking in his sweetness and laughing at his emerging animation.  I used to say that all newborns are ugly and that it would take them a few weeks to finally get cute, but I figured that every parent still thinks theirs is the cutest of all no matter what other people think.  And boy was I right!  These pics just don’t do him justice.  Yes, I’m a proud mama!
 

Bundle of joy!


 
All this makes up for what is most definitely going to be a long haul.  I have been given a “camping out” room which is basically a closet I can pass out in, between visits to the nursery to try to tempt Knittymunckin into breastfeeding, and pumping like all get out to supply him with what he needs to get big and strong.  I spend at least 14 hours a day there, only going home after his 8 PM feeding.  And once back at home I continue the cycle of pumping every 3 hours throughout the night.  I’m lucky if I get 2.5 hours of sleep at a time and it’s usually much much less.  It’s rough, but I do it for our little guy and I’m trying my best to hang in there.  We probably have at least 2 more weeks of this before we can bring him home and by the end I will be in my “camping room” 24-7 since he should (hopefully) be able to breastfeed for all his meals.
 
Until then, I wake up in the nighttime darkness to go to the milking parlor.  That’s what I’m calling our spare bathroom because that’s where spend my nights hooked up to the pump.  It’s important to have a sense of humor about these things I think, and the similarities to Old Bessie hooked up to the milking machine are just undeniable.  If I don’t laugh about something daily, it’s too easy to cry instead.  My husband, hearing me refer to the milking parlor, made me a couple signs for the door as a surprise one day.  I laughed so hard I forgot how tired I was.  Isn’t he the best?  Not only that, but Tuesday when he was home doing chores while I was at the hospital with Knittymunchkin, he completely cleaned and rearranged our bedroom the way that I’ve been imagining it for the past year or two.  What an amazing surprise to come home to that!  Do my boys know how to take care of me or what?
 

The Milking Parlor entrance


 
Hope all of you have some wonderful Valentine’s Day plans today!  Me, I have a date with two boys in the nursery ;)

20 thoughts on “In For The Long Haul

  1. Oh, he’s beautiful!! I’m so happy for you guys!! I hear you on the breastfeeding schedule, but you are right – he will get big and strong on mama’s milk. Cavebaby is almost 5 months old and I believe that he is doing so well because of the mama’s milk he gets. :)

    Happy Valentines Day!!! I know it will be one you won’t ever forget! ;)

  2. OMG he is adorable!!!! What a sweetheart! Yes keeping a sense of humor gets you thru a LOT of stuff! and I totally agree with you on the milk pumps. Just like Bessie! and I love the signs on the door!!!

    Being a mom is a challenge and you are definitely rising to the occasion!

  3. What a cute little guy! All you have to go through right now is no doubt hard, but the men in your life clearly know how to make it all better. That, and your sense of humor – I love it!
    Happy Valentine’s Day, sweetie!

  4. Hi,

    OMG he is adorable. When my kiddos were born, they spent 5 and 6 weeks in the nursery and my mom called me Molly Moo Cow because everytime she called me I was pumping too. I can totally relate. Hang in there, it is all worth it in the end.

  5. Aww … how sweet! He’s adorable.

    And I got your ‘thank you’ card in the mail yesterday. You are very welcome and I hope he gets good use of the hat!

    Have you picked a name yet, or did I miss that?

  6. Oh, Knittymunchkin is TOO CUTE!!! I remember those days pumping in the nursery. It was only five years ago but seems much longer. It’s hard to believe, but even now the smell of hand sanitizer makes me think of the NICU where we “lived” for a while!

    These days are long and tough, but they will just be a memory before you know it. Savor every minute with that little one! Sending good wishes your way!

  7. Knittymunchkin is so cute! I’m glad to read that everything is going well – I did not write easy ;-) – since everyone is healthy and laughing! Take very good care of yourself and your boys. Happy Valentine! And thank you for all the great news!

  8. Lily says, “Awww… he’s sooooo cuuuute. I like him.” She loves babies.

    I hear you on the milking parlour. My milk was extremely slow coming in with my C-section so I spent a lot of time in Addie’s room milking. It’s not my favorite way to spend my time! I highly recommend getting some trashy magazines you’d never otherwise read, at least it’s a way to pass the time.

  9. Emma and I are admiring what a handsome fellow you have there! Congratulations! I’m so glad that you are both well and hopefully you’ll be bringing your little munchkin home soon……how’s grammie doing?

  10. He is very cute, Maryanne – and I believe you got your wish – someone *does* look like you now. I can see your features in his face.

    On a less serious note, I am dying laughing at the milking parlor references and the signs!!

  11. He does look like his mama! I can totally see it. He is absolutely beautiful! I remember those milking days…hang in there. Laughter is good. Love the whole idea of a milking parlor–too funny.

    xoxo

  12. Hi Maryanne. I got your card today and was very happy to hear from you. You are most welcome for the gifts for baby Dylan. He’s an absolutely beautiful and one of these days we will have to make the trek to Washington so I can see all his fingers and toes. Take care of yourself girl. And give him lots of kisses and hugs from me! :)

  13. So sweet and tiny! And what a happy mama you are! Congrats to the whole family! You are such an amazing woman! Take care of yourself.

  14. I am so delighted to see your bundle of joy! He is precious beyond words! Maryanne, you have been through so much. My thoughts are with all of you, hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

