7 Weeks! Also Known As 101 Things Progress: 1 of 101

Knittymunchkin - 6 weeks and sleeping


 
Wow.  It’s been 7 weeks and 1 day since our sweet little boy was born!  When I look back, it’s astonishing to me how quickly the time has gone.  Our month spent in the Special Care Nursery, each moment feeling like a year of agonizing anguish and effort that would never end, seems like nothing but a blip on Knittymunchkin’s monitor screen.  We are so happy to have him home with us finally, and though the last 3 weeks have been a maze of sleepless nights, dirty diapers, restless baby noises, and checking our sleeping baby 1 gajillion times through the night to make sure he’s still breathing (paranoid new parents that we are), there have been lots of laughs, and plenty of love to go around.  R. Darling was able to spend 3 more weeks at home with us before having to go back to work yesterday and I feel so lucky, not only to have his amazing support and wonderful help during those weeks of adjustment, but also grateful that he was able to be here to experience everything and make lasting memories for himself of that first part of Knittymunchkin’s life.
 

Our Sweet Boy


 
And now I am officially a “Stay At Home Mom”.  What a bewildering transition this has been for me.  I have never once considered myself ambitious or career-driven, nor have I ever felt that my occupation defined me in any way.  I have always been content knowing that I do what I do and that makes me neither better or worse than someone else.  People inevitably find my occupation interesting though, so perhaps I found more confidence in myself through that interest than I realized.  But I’m finding that I am uncomfortable telling people that I stay at home now, that I’m unemployed.  It makes me feel mysteriously “less than”.  Don’t get me wrong.  I have always had the utmost admiration for stay at home Moms and really do feel that it is a choice you make out of love for child.  And how can someone possibly think less of that sacrifice?  I certainly don’t.  And it is most definitely more work than a conventional full-time job. Yet, when the title is applied to myself I feel anxious.  Less interesting.  Maybe that will change as I get more comfortable in my new role.  But either way, I know that I’m making the right decision for myself and our family and that gives me great consolation.
 

We spend a lot of time doing this.....


 
For now, we are spending lots of time napping when possible and getting used to our days at home together.  It’s been another big adjustment for me to have someone so completely and totally dependent on me being there at every moment.  I was prepared for this challenge, but it still takes some getting used to.  I sometimes don’t change out of my pj’s all day or even get out of bed for hours at a time.  Forget makeup. And showering every day has even become a forgotten prospect; something low on my list of other “have to’s”.  I rarely, if ever, leave the house and I’m afraid I’ll forget how to talk to other humans if I’m not careful. But I’ll get there. I’m already getting better about letting the baby fuss a little bit if I’m doing something, rather than dropping everything to comfort him.  That one’s still a struggle because I hate to have him crying, but I know it’s not the end of the world if he does it for a little bit.  This mothering thing is definitely exhausting!  But it’s all worth it in the end when I’m rewarded with one of these…..
 

It's all worth it for one of these!


 
And now, I am free to cross the first thing off my 101 Things in 1001 Days list:  “Grow a Munchkin”!  And boy do I think he’s a cutie ;)

16 thoughts on “7 Weeks! Also Known As 101 Things Progress: 1 of 101

  1. I hear you completely!! It’s hard to believe Cavebaby is 6 months! The first half of his year is already over.

    Your little guy is adorable!! I love those pictures, so precious! You will get used to the title more in the coming weeks and months. I love the squeaks and smiles too, they make all the blood, sweat and tears worth it. LOL!!

  2. Aww, he is so sweet! You are definitely not ‘less than’ for staying home with your little one. I don’t think I could hack it and I know lots of mommies that decided that they wanted to work instead. That being said, there is nothing wrong with going back to work either if staying home drives you batty! It will be better for both of you if you decide that’s what’s best. :)

  3. He IS a cutie! Thanks for the photos. I love the ones where mom and baby (or dad and baby) are sleeping. It’s very realistic of what life is like during those early weeks. I never really felt human or felt like I had a routine during the first six weeks or so. It’s a tough adjustment.

    You can always call if you need an adult to talk to. :) Also, don’t be afraid to change your job title to Work at Home Mom (because you are working) or Chief Procurement Officer.

  4. I am so happy for you, M. He is SO adorable! That smile … totally precious.

    I was getting a little worried with the radio silence, but I can see why. Reading this post makes me want one even more now.

  5. Cuter by the day…Sleep every second you can. You will find your way in this new world and all will be well. Sending big hugs all around!!

  6. Awww! So happy for you! I’m sure the “stay at home mom” thing will grow on you after awhile when you are able to have a routine. Thanks for sharing the pictures :)

  7. You guys did a great job. I’m glad you are enjoying this journey so far. Just remember they grow like weeds! :) Give him lots of kisses from me.

    AJ

  8. I agree with Jess on the title change! It takes a huge commitment from both partners to support one staying home full-time. Enjoy it and relish the fact that you can do this together!

    Love how precious all these pictures are!

  9. Wow! I loved reading these news from you and Knittymunchkin! I so much envy you to have the opportunity to stay at home with your baby! You should feel lucky and trust me, I’m sure a lot of people envy you too! Thanks for sharing the pictures and the beautiful smile of your baby! Have a great weekend!

  10. I’m glad to hear everyone’s doing well! I’m sure it would be a huge adjustment to stay home, as part of the huge adjustment to having someone 100% reliant on you. It’s a big change, all at once – give yourself time to adjust!

  11. Oh my goodness!! It is hard to believe what an adorable sweetie he is. Actually wait, it is easy, given his wonderful & beautiful Mom :) I am so happy he is home with you now, healthy, and those arduous days are behind you.

  12. He’s beautiful! What a wonderful gift. I admire you so much for becoming a stay at home Mum. I don’t think you’re less than. I think you’re more than. You are now employed in a career that will bring you more joy and happiness than a 9-5 could ever do. I wish I could have done it. Enjoy your special time with your little beebe.

Leave a Reply

