On Blogging

Totally gratuitous, unrelated picture of Knittymunchkin

I heard something the other day and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head ever since:  “Blogging is SO 5 years ago.”  Could this be true?  Do I care?  I got to thinking.

I started my own blog back in January of 2006 on Blogspot and moved to WordPress in February of 2007.  At first I was a casual blogger but something clicked when I moved to WordPress and I felt inspired.  I’ve had my ups and downs with this space, mostly related to big life changes and the occasional burnout, but that need to blog has always been there, bubbling under the surface.  I can’t wait to finish a knitting project and tell everyone here about it.  When I take a trip or see something novel, I want to take photos and share with you.  But I admit I’ve seen a decline.  Maybe about 2/3 of my blog friends are still blogging and some of those are only blogging infrequently (me included, but that’s because there’s something else that takes a lot of my time these days!).  I haven’t seen a meme in well over a year.  I know I don’t have time to read blogs like I used to and I know that mine isn’t getting read as much as it once was either.  Or at least the reduction in comments and traffic are telling me so.  But perhaps that’s due to lack of interesting content.  Believe me, I know I’m just a goldfish in a sea of exotic tropical fish when it comes to what I have to say or share.

I blame things like Twitter, Facebook, even Ravelry.  Much as I adore Ravelry and wouldn’t ever want to live without it, I think knitters have very little need to blog anymore when they can share their beautiful projects, modifications, and comments, with a giant community of other crafters all in one place.  Want new friends with similar interests?  Join one of the thousands of groups and there’s no need to surf blogs anymore.  Just log into one place and jump in the conversation.  I loves me some Ravelry, but it’s kinda rendering blogworld unnecessary for knitters.

Twitter and Facebook though?  I think these just reflect the growing tendency of our society to always be in a hurry.  Why take the time to write a full-fledged blog post when you can just tell people in 140 characters or less what you are doing at the moment? Maybe I’m a romantic, but this isn’t my way.  I tried it and hated it.  If you ask me a simple question that can be answered in just a few words, I will unfailingly begin to tell you the answer, why that’s the answer, how that relates to the world in general and why that’s important in my very own opinion.  Just ask my husband.  He finds it exasperating at times, but I can’t help it.  I’m not interested in telling you what I ate for lunch unless I can describe for you what it tasted like, what memories it brought back for me, what I saw out the window as I ate, and what that little slice of my life was like. It’s not worth it to me to share unless I can tell you a story.  That’s why I doubt I will ever give up this space, even if I take a year off someday and the cobwebs take over, both blog and mind.  That’s why I will keep blogging even if no one ever reads or cares about what I’m writing anymore.

So tell me this.  Is blogging “SO 5 years ago?”  And do you care if it is?

12 thoughts on “On Blogging

  1. I’m not a trend-setter or a trend-follower, so I do what I wish. I still think blogs are fun to read and I like blabbing about my own knitting projects in the hopes that it inspires others in their efforts.

    I tried twitter for about 1 month and found it seriously boring. I don’t know why people have this thing about following celebrity tweets so that they know what their favorite celeb is thinking every minute. I also don’t care what my friends just ate for lunch!

    I do admit facebook is fun for re-connecting with long-lost friends and acquaintances, but I log in only about once a week at most.

    So I say, if you like to blog about stuff — just continue doing so because you have to do what you like.

  2. First of all, LOVE the gratuitous pic of knittymunchkin! He is getting so big!! I can see him changing so quickly. That’s what the first year will do to a baby.

    Second, did you just read my latest post on my blog because I just said the same thing! I agree, blogging seems to be taking a back seat to facebook, twitter and ravelry. While I enjoy Ravelry, it won’t take the place of my blog. Plus I enjoy seeing the projects and reading the story behind it. You don’t get that from Ravelry. I’m not on Twitter, but I do FB. I enjoy the little blips here and there and have reconnected with people because of it, but it wont take the place of my blog. I don’t usually post my finished projects on FB (but then again I haven’t done as many SINCE I’ve joined FB, could be related…), but I enjoy the games on FB. that’s why I’m mostly on it.

    I enjoy my blog and want to keep going on it, even long after the readership goes off. But I will continue to visit yours. I enjoy blogs, yours included. Where else can I see babylicious pics of knittymunchkins?!?

  3. I still love my blog. Yes I Ravelry and enjoy it. However, blogging is a much freer form. One can go off on a tangent, or post a poem, or write a thoughtful reflection such as yours. It’s not just about the knitting. I don’t think of it as a Knit Blog but rather a blog by a knitter.

  4. I agree with everyone so far! I love my blog and I could care less what anyone else has to say or if they even visit any longer. It is a means for me to share and express myself that is not available in any other format. SO, blog ahead. I will still be lurking and reading in the hopes that you will again offer me the needed kick in the pants that I need to finish or start something.

    Besides, how else could I follow the progress of the Munchkin if I didn’t like blogs…he is getting so big so quickly! Thank you for sharing him with us!

  5. i think you get so much more personal stuff through blogs than you’ll ever see through ravelry, twitter, etc. and some people are really fantastic writers, which is nearly impossible to convey through 150 characters. ;) i still love blogs, even though i don’t write in my own nearly as much as i want to.

  6. For the record, I do care.

    I agree with you; Facebook and Twitter are fast and I think that is the appeal. I was just posting to Facebook last night about how I am losing interest in it and feel TOO connected to everyone around me. I’m going to be backing down from it, that is for sure.

    I still blog, and I will contiune to do so, even if no one reads. I really enjoy it, and I enjoy reading other blogs.

  7. Loving Knittymunchkin’s gratuitous appearance :-)

    If it’s so 5 years ago, then why are there usually well over 100 posts updated to my RSS reader when I am away from the computer for a few days? Ravelry has done a lot for showing off the end product, but documenting the process still seems a lot easier on a blog. I have also found it easier to engage with the bloggers via the comments and follow up e-mail (hehe) and met some wonderful people that way.

    FB and Twitter: I can’t keep up with them! Even when I wasn’t working and spent a lot of time on the interwebs, I didn’t do much with them. If I managed to keep up with these sites, I’d strongly suspect there is something seriously lacking in my life. Such as running in the real outdoors, or knitting.

  8. I’m with tinebeest; if i take the weekend off from blogs, I have well over 200 unread posts in my Google reader. While it’s true that the knitting blogs are pretty quiet lately (mine included!), the sewing, food, and fitness ones I read are as busy as ever. I’m even thinking about dumping the knitting one & starting a food one. Just keep doing what you do & we’ll keep reading! :)

  9. What a cutie pie!! I want to kiss those little cheeks. Smooch!

    As my husband describes is dad: Ask him for directions and he’ll tell you how to build a car. ;-)

    As you now I am a non-blogger but I love reading yours and hope you keep returning to it inbetween exciting baby stuff and beyond!

  10. I love reading blogs! They’re short enough to read in one sitting but long enough to give me the real meat and bones of whatever subject the blogger is thinking about. I think of it the same way I think of literature: there are novels, magazines, newspapers, even (to some extent nowadays) texts and blurbs on websites. I think of blogs as the magazine articles of the internet. Sure, some days all I want are the headlines (Twitter) but other days I’d rather read a blog or two.

Leave a Reply

