Heavenly Thirty-Sevenly

Today I am thirty-seven years old.  I can hardly believe it.  Thirty-five was the worst year of my life, and thirty-six was better, but not the best.  I’m hoping thirty-seven will be heaven.  And I’m going to do my best to make sure it turns out that way.  Starting with breakfast…….
 

Raspberry & White Truffle Cake


 
I’ve probably mentioned this before, but every year I buy myself a birthday cake the day before my birthday and then spend the rest of the next day eating it (sometimes for every meal!).  This year I spent a little extra and got a raspberry & white truffle cake and I’m 99% sure this is the same cake we got for our wedding cake.  Yum!  I may be losing my sweet tooth a little bit though because I got full before I finished my first piece.  But I have a reputation to uphold here!  So I’ll give it another go after dinner :)
 
Today has been very low-key.  Knittymunchkin woke me up at 4:00 AM to eat and has been fussy most of the day, but his giggly times make up for all that.  R. Darling gave me a generous amount of money so I could renew a sock club I wanted next month, and treated me to a nice massage while Knittymunchkin napped.  We went out for a bit and tootled around and now I have a few moments to myself to write a little post and reflect on my day.  It’s funny how birthdays change as we get older.
 
I’ve never cared much for New Year’s because my birthday has always been my own personal new year.  A time to think about the year just past and look forward to planning for the year that is just beginning.  This year what I want to accomplish most is to pay more attention to my own personal happiness. I have a tendency to put my boys ahead of myself and though that’s wonderful most of the time, I want to try very hard to make sure I don’t lose myself somewhere along the way.  That means letting my husband help me more and not trying to do it all myself. It also means learning to let some things go and finding a way to focus on what’s important. Of course, plentiful knitting and yarn will also be involved!
 
So happy New Year to me! We’ll see what kind of heaven thirty-seven will bring…..

14 thoughts on “Heavenly Thirty-Sevenly

  1. Happy birthday! May this new year beginning for you be filled with sweetnesses of all kinds!
    Paying more attention to our own personal happiness can be hard sometimes, especially since we’re so accustomed to putting other people’s happiness before our own, and yet it’s worth it. I wish you all the best as you make your way on that path. :)

  2. I’m glad to hear that you are feeling better and that you had a great birthday! I love you cake tradition – that is so cool!

    I also love you outlook on birthdays, as being a ‘new year’ and time of reflection. Let’s hope this one is the best yet!

  3. Happy New Year!

    I love this point of view and will have to reflect upon it myself. I also love the cake tradition and I may have to adopt it myself!

    Allow yourself the time you need. It will not only make you a better person, it will add to the strength, love and joy of the entire family.

    “If mama ain’t happy, NOBODY is happy!”

  4. Happy Birthday!! I’ll be right over for some of that cake–in my dreams. :-)

    It’s definitely a good thing to share the load with your wonderful R. Darling. Good move girl.

    Big hugs to you and your guys,

  5. Happy belated birthday! Sorry I didn’t see this until today. I like the idea of thinking of your birthday as a sort of new year. And definitely, you should include yourself on your priority list.

    You inspired me to get my hair cut -see my blog.

  6. Happy Birthday! If you find that you can no longer finish the cake easily, just get a smaller cake next year. Or, splurge and get one of those $3.50 cupcakes!

  7. I’m so sorry I missed your Birthday….this is why I have no friends! I hope you have a great new year being 37,and I am going to start the birthday cake thing for myself!

    XO Shannon

  8. Happy Birthday muggie! Belated, sorry I have been very self-involved celebrating my own.:)
    I believe your years will only get better from here and what a way to kick it off that with that fabulous cake!!!
    Great job R.Darling on supporting your yarn habit and your need for some physical therapy.
    Wishing you a year beyond your dream- <3

  9. Late in reading, but I gotta know, did you finish the cake??? LOL Funny how you say your birthday is more of a new year for you. My birthday is 12/31 so I have a new year regardless!!! It sounds like you had a nice day. And mentally expecting a great year helps alot!!

Leave a Reply

