A Day Late….

“A day late and a dollar short”, is what my folks have always said when someone misses a big opportunity or forgets to do something important.  Well, I may be a day late, but two of you certainly won’t be a dollar short :)  So sorry for the delay, but now that Knittymunchkin is working on crawling (not quite there yet, but he’s trying!) I am even more busy than I used to be.  Who would have thunk that would even be possible?  And yet it is.

Anyhoo, just a comment on all your comments before the big announcement.  R. Darling always reads your posts on my bloggy (so thank you to all of you who say or have said nice things about him; he is always so touched by this!) and he noticed a little trend amongst some of the ladies who wrote in.  Many of you said that the best thing you ever did for yourself was to leave a relationship.  I find that so interesting.  It makes me wonder if we women, as a whole, try just a little too hard to accommodate everyone else in our lives to the detriment of ourselves in the process.  Is it necessary to lose ourselves in order to be a good mother, wife, or friend?  Of course not, but how easily it happens sometimes.  Just a little food for thought!  And thank you so very much to all of you for sharing your triumphs and joys by answering my big deep question.  Your strength, courage, and ability to grab that brass ring of happiness for yourselves is so inspiring!  Keep up the good work :)

O.K. Enough of my nonsense.  On to the winners!  First, I’ll go with the easiest answer.  I used the random number generator (the R. Darling Automaton 4000 was unfortunately, out on loan to the county this morning) to pick a random winner from my commenters.  And the random winner was commenter #10: Debbi!  Congrats Debbi!  Debbi and I have probably known each other for most of the duration of my blogging “career”.  I think we met during The Knitting Gnome Swap?  My memory is a little fuzzy, but I know I sent her a little package with some purple sock yarn in it way back when.

And the second winner….  This was a toughie guys.  I mean, all your comments were heartfelt & touching and I was so inspired by each of you.  I wish I could give you all a prize!  So I deliberated for a really long time.  And I considered copping out and just choosing another random winner.  But I sucked it up and made a choice.  My winner for the comment I liked best is Andi of My Sister’s Knitter (BTW: you should totally check out her bloggy!  The pics of her yarns & projects are beautiful & inspiring :)  Andi gets my vote not just because of what she chose to do to find her personal happiness, but the way she explained her choice and its result.  Just a couple quotes (hope this is o.k. with you Andi!): “I learned that by giving everyone everything you have doesn’t do them or you any good” & “My time now has only one purpose-to replenish my soul so that I can be a better person to others not by what I can do for them, but what type of person I am”.  Well said!

So thanks so much everyone for reading the past four years & commenting & just being the best blog readers ever!  Congrats to my contest winners & I’ll be in touch via e-mail to find out which patterns from Ravelry you’ll choose.

Now, to get Little Mister ready for baby class today :)

5 thoughts on “A Day Late….

  1. Late? I certainly didn’t notice. And I love R. Darling more and more with every glimpse we get of him.

    As for the observation, unfortunately, it is probably reality for more women than we know and most would never admit to that fact either. It takes courage to look in the mirror and admit that you transformed yourself into someone that no longer resembles any part of your old self. It takes even more strength to do something to change it.

    Congrats to both winners! More new blogs to stalk, I meant read…. :)

  2. Baby class? How cute! I really liked Andi’s post as well. I’ve discovered Andi’s blog this year and I became an unconditional ;-) Have a good week! And congratulations again for your blog! I love visiting!!!

  3. Congrats to the winners! I saw the contest, but I didn’t enter because I couldn’t easily think of an answer to your first question!

    Oh, and happy blogiversary.

  4. Thank you so much for choosing my comment amongst some really amazing women. I don’t know how you were able to choose, I was pouring over them earlier and am in complete awe.
    R.Darling is a genius in noticing that trend! I agree with you very much that women have a tendency to give of themselves more than they should sometimes and forget about the most important person-ourselves.
    Thank you again!
    Andi

Leave a Reply

