Begin Again

The hardest part about returning to blogging after a long break is not so much about the desire to blog, but about finding your voice again after so much time has passed.  What do I say?  How do I say it?  Will people listen?  Am I boring?  Is it worth it?  So many questions.

The world outside my window is covered in a downy gown of white, like so many feathers nestling together under the trees.  It looks so pure and peaceful, a perfect reflection of the clean slate I am beginning with as I start to write again and rediscover my own inner thoughts.

This year I am already thinking quite a lot about reducing, reusing (or just using), and really focusing on just what I need and nothing more.  It’s hard.  I’m sentimental and I tend to hang onto things thinking they’re “too special” for everyday use or save things I “know” I’ll use later and then never do.  I put some thought into this towards the beginning of last year, in preparation for Knittymunchkin’s arrival, but then things got kind of crazy with his early debut and adapting to new motherhood etc.  Now that we have settled into a little more of a routine (for now), I’d like to take that idea back out and dust it off and see what I can do about it.

You know that I’ve been talking quite a lot about knitting from stash for a while now.  I have been working steadily on getting everything into Ravelry and also a spreadsheet I made myself to keep track of how much I have and how much I need to use to whittle my stash down by at least half (one of my Day Zero/101 in 1001 goals).  I don’t have absolutely everything in there and the number won’t be static (because I plan to go to Sock Summit this year and will most definitely be purchasing some things!) but it looks a little something like this:

  • Total Yardage: 294,359.40 yds
  • Number of balls/hanks/skeins: 1766.91
  • Number of Sock Yarn hanks/balls/skeins: 152

Whew!  Mama has some work to do!  So in preparation, I set myself up with a Personal Project Club (a little like the Personal Sock Club I did in 2009).  I set up 6 bags with different projects in them;  some new projects, some projects that need to get finished, some small, some bigger.

Yesterday I finished my current WIP (Oscilloscope Shawl from Knitscene, Fall 2010) so I allowed myself to choose my first project from my personal project club.  And I chose: Subway Hat from Modern Top-Down Knitting.  I’m so excited!  There is just something whimsical I love about this little hat :)  The funny thing is, I actually want (for once!) to finish some of my current WIP’s/UFO’s before starting this hat, even though I know it will be quick.  Crazy, huh?  But I’m going to ride that wave until it crests.

Stay tuned for pics of my shawl once I can get it blocked and photographed, which I hope will be soon!  Not my usual kind of thang, but I think I might like it.

12 thoughts on “Begin Again

  1. Cute hat! My friend’s little boys were wearing something very similar to play in the snow this week and I noticed how cute they looked. I also like the idea of project bags. Lots of people are doing the self imposed sock clubs and I’ve been thinking of doing something similar. Maybe I could do it with other projects in my queue as well.

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing all those FOs emerge from the bags. Keep calm and carry yarn!

    I’m also on a reduce/reuse/recycle kick. For every 2 items of clothing I acquire, I have to donate away 3 of them.

  3. Yes; you are boring and no one wants to read this dribble.

    JUST KIDDING! I love you blog and I always love to see what you are up to, what the baby is up to, and what you are knitting. You’re a wonderful person and a great friend, and I hope you’ll keep up the blogging!

  4. Glad to see you back! I know just what you mean about knowing what to say after awhile away. It is a habit like everything else though, and you’ll get back into it, if it is what you really want.

  5. Oh man, I wanna come and roll around in your stash! It sounds lovely.

    The good news about making life less cluttered is that it gets easier, as you get used to the idea and practice. As a peripatetic academic, I find it very handy not to own many things, and not to feel the need for being surrounded by them. My flat may look very empty to some, but I like it that way.

  6. You boring? Not a descriptive word that I would ever use for you!

    I love the re-appearance of the VS bags! I love the idea of utilizing the excel spreadsheet and I may have to take a stab at it myself.

    Looking forward to the progress and to having your blog back in my “To Do” list again!

  7. I love the idea of your own personal club! These Victoria Secret bags are so pretty too! I also say that you should definitely not worry about being boring… you would be anything before that ;-) Look forward to seeing the pics of your shawl… and Subway hat!

  8. I’m so happy to see you’re back–accidentally clicked on your bookmark and saw you had returned. Yippee.

    Wow!! You’ve got some yarn. Have fun with it. Just take it one stitch at a time…

    I am trying something new for me, knitting one item at a time. I did mittens, then a hat and now I’m doing a shawl–but it is very tempting to switch to something else. We’ll see how I do.

    Happy New year to your and your adorable family!!

    xoxo

    kathy

Leave a Reply

