Where To Begin?

Where to begin when you haven’t begun in so many beginnings you may have forgotten how to begin at all?
 
It’s been a long time.  There have been things to share, and then the moment has passed and it seems like such old news that there is no point in writing about it at all.  When did I start feeling so overwhelmed that I began to let these opportunities slip away from me?  Did it happen on my birthday in September when I cooked my own birthday dinner and ate my celebration cake all alone?  Or maybe it was a few weeks later when Knittymunchkin decided naps were for suckas and a three week pitched battle between mama and little one ensued.  I’m sure you can guess who the victor was.  I’ll give you a hint: not me.  When did time become something so elusive?  When did I lose the ability to indulge in the things I love and how do I get it back?  I don’t have any answers.  I wish I did.  But I will just have to take one day at a time.  Because this is worth it.  Writing is worth it.  Connecting with all of you is worth it.
 
The biggest event I may have failed to mention was my five year blogging anniversary on October 14, 2011.  Five years!  It’s a bittersweet accomplishment because the milestone is not without some significance to me, yet I know I haven’t been maintaining things here well enough to consider it a five years worth acknowledging.  I had planned festivities, but perhaps we will save those for the New Year.  A kind of new start which, as many of you know, I typically celebrate on my birthday in September.  But since that date has come and gone I will shoot this year for January 1, 2012.  After all, 12 is my favorite number.
 
Though it would seem likely I haven’t been knitting much, what with the lack of content here and a toddler boycotting naps, I’ve actually been knitting quite a lot.  Knittymunchkin rewards me with moments each day during which he is content to play quietly by himself, and we have recently reverted back to at least 45 minutes of naptime most days.  On top of that, R. Darling has a temporary promotion at work that has him working different hours which means that I have a few hours to myself each evening before bed now.  Though I dearly miss our couple time, I have been thrilled to have a few more quiet moments to myself each day.  They’ve seemed few and far between the past 2 years.  And, as if I needed another distraction from my knitting, I’ve started working out again.  But it’s good.  It’s all good.
 
I’ll leave you with a picture of Knittymunchkin from a hot August afternoon this summer…..
 

 

You’ll be happy to see that I’m starting him off early :)

 

Hope all your holidays are off to a joyful start!

8 thoughts on “Where To Begin?

  1. Christ on a cracker! What are you feeding that kid? He’s huge!!! :-)

    I was so glad to see a blog post that belonged to you, in my feed this morning, that I just had to read it before retiring to bed after my shift at work. I’m sad that your birthday was so lonely, but I’m thrilled to hear that the little one is giving you so much happiness. And I love that photo! Train them young, that’s what I say!

    It is good to see you blogging again, as I for one love to read your posts. Take care, and much love across the miles from me to you!

  2. Routine is an ever changing thing, isn’t it? No sooner have you established one that works that something comes up and a new one is needed. I’m glad to read you’re finding ways to take time for yourself through it all. Take care, sweetie!

  3. I know what you mean about blogging…it’s kind of lost its spark for me. But I’m glad you still do, cause it means I get to see pics of that adorable little one of yours :-) Happy holidays!

  4. Sometimes I think that bloggers worry too much about not blogging enough! ;-) For sure, it is a pleasure to read you though! Enjoy those free moments! Have a great weekend too!

  5. Road Trip!!!! Dylan can come if Rodger has to work. I’ll take care of everything. Doesn’t Madrona sound like fun? I feel that I don’t accomplish everything I want to, too. My Christmas knitting is looking a little bleak, but that’s the way it goes…

  6. Wow, both my sister and Troy beat me to the punch. I’m glad to see you’re back! It’s tough to get back into it, especially when you don’t feel like you’ve been getting much done. I hear ya sista!

  7. So wonderful to see you!! Love that growing boy–such an adorable pic.

    Also love that you are finding time to knit.

    Happy belated birthday and Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!

    Love the snow falling across your pages.

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

