Love….

Love, thy name is Hexipuff.

 

Hexipuffs!


 
Ever since my lovely friend Jess bought me the The Beekeeper’s Quilt pattern and we agreed to knit it together for “however long”, I have been undeniably enamored with this charming little project.  Hexipuffs are smooshy, and squooshy, sweet and cute.  And each one is a little mini FO that you can pat and poke and imagine occupying its future spot in your darling little quilt.
 
At first I thought I wouldn’t dare touch my enormous sock yarn stash.  I mean, that’s for socks, right?  So being short on sock yarn scraps, I scoured etsy, and found someone selling minis.  Then I scoured Ravelry and found another.  A few bucks later and I was in business!  Then I joined a swap at the Sanguine Gryphon Group on Ravelry.  Lucky for me, there was one for newbies that didn’t fill up about 2 seconds after it was posted.  I swear those SG people are fanatics (me included, mwah-ha-ha!).  It’s hard to get in on a destash or a swap because things disappear before you can say “flapjack”.  Sadly, The Sanguine Gryphon is no more in a few short days.  But that’s a big boo hoo for another day :(  I’d say my bank account would breathe a ginormous sigh of relief if it weren’t for the fact that they are dissolving into two new dye studios and I’m afraid that means twice the amount of temptation!
 
I also discovered that the very talented Didi (creator of Little Red Bicycle; whom I got to meet at Sock Summit 2011 for the first time after “knowing” her for a few years online) had a mini-skein club going.  What better way to support a friend, and a mini-skein habit, than by signing up?  I’ve already received October and November, am waiting on December, and have signed up for another 3 months of January – March 2012.  Everything I’ve received so far has been gorgeous!  I can’t wait to make puffs out of them, and I am just stunned by her beautiful sense of color.
 

October 2011 Mini-skein Club from Little Red Bicycle


 

November 2011 Mini-Skein Club from Little Red Bicycle


 
Finally, after a little contemplation of my stash, I decided there were definitely some fingering weight sock yarns that I could (and should) part with.  I had a few smaller skeins that weren’t enough for a full pair of socks anyway and I didn’t have immediate plans for them.  Nor was I sure they’d look good on a larger scale.  That’s the nice thing about the Hexipuffs.  You can use some of your loudest or even – dare I say it – ugliest yarns, and they don’t look so bad on a small scale.
 
Flush with so many choices, I am working steadily on this project.  I know it will take me years to make enough to fill out a quilt, but each time I finish one I get a tiny spark of satisfaction.  They are the perfect little fillers for when Knittymunchkin is in his high chair eating a snack, or when he is playing independently (however briefly) and I have a spare moment without him clinging to my leg.  They are simple, elegant, and can be put down at a moment’s notice without losing your place.  In case you didn’t already guess…. I love Hexipuffs!
 
Because I’ll be working on this for the rest of my natural life (most likely) I think it would be fun to do a little gallery each month of the puffs that I’ve knit.  I’ve been keeping count and I knit anywhere from 10 – 25 of these in any given month.  So a little retrospective might be fun.  January is just days away (how did that happen?) so I think I’ll start after I’ve knit January’s puffs.
 
Until then, Happy Holidays!  May your days be merry & bright :)

9 thoughts on “Love….

  1. Those are so cute! If you need sock scraps, let me know.

    The Sanguine Gryphon is closing???? I read that and got on their site quick as a flash, and ordered some yarn. I’ve seen their stuff and always said that I’d get a skein or two one day. Well, looks like that day was today. I ordered a skein for me and one for my mom (who wants new socks, in shades of brown.)

    BTW – I got your Christmas card. That child of yours is growing like a weed, and is so adorable!

  2. Cute! I can imagine how knitting those little things might become addictive… I’m looking forward to your monthly retrospective. Until then, enjoy knitting them!

  3. Very cute!!! I’ve tried making hexipuffs and after one I decided that it wasnt for me. The one I did became a cat toy. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!!!!

  4. My sister bought me the pattern and I too will start knitting hexipuffs after my holiday knitting is finished. I can’t wait! Yours are beautiful. It’s nice to see you blogging again. I have to say that I have fallen off the wagon of blogging myself but hope to try and pick it up in the New Year. Happy Holidays! (:

  5. Merry Christmas! There is a little something coming your way after the holidays. I included something for Troy as well, since I figured you could find a way to get it to him. :)

  6. Happy holidays to you and yours! In the spirit of giving, (and also helping me clean out stuff), are you interested in a couple of free skeins of sock yarn? I have two skeins that I won from different blog contests in the past, and I’m just never going to use them. I’ll gladly send them to you if you will send me your address to my ravelry account (bettyc is the id)

  7. These hexipuffs are so cute! They must be so fun to make with sock yarn! The mini-skein you have are so adorable! Have fun! Merry Christmas also to you and your loved ones! xx

  8. Oh, stash yarn comes and goes, but it can stick around awhile, too. I will keep an eye out for yarn to give to you for this very cool project!

Leave a Reply

