Thinning The Nest: Thursday Number 5

Week 5:  10 balls of yarn!
 
This week’s exodus happened sort of inadvertently.  As most of you know, I have a ginormous stash.  And it’s sort of out of control.  Well, it’s actually pretty organized, there’s just an embarrassing amount of it.  I’m just a little OCD about photographing it, entering it into Ravelry and my own personal spreadsheet, and keeping tabs on yardage as well as cost per hank/skein/ball.  Despite that, there are actually a few items here and there that slip through the cracks, so my entire stash is not quite up to date on Ravelry.  But it’s  close.  Anyway, I occasionally get messages from other Ravelry folks wanting to know if something or another is for sale.  Usually they are asking about my “regular” stash and I have to gently point out that the only things truly for sale in my stash are on my trade/sell page.  I try to be friendly.  And I wish them luck in their search.  I mean, it never hurts to ask, right?  But sometimes I find myself getting a little irked when someone who solicited me about my yarn has the gall to act huffy with me; like my yarn is up for grabs just because I took a photo and wrote some stash notes about purchase prices.
 

Ella Rae Silkience in "Silky Lime"


 
But sometimes when people ask I just happen to have been looking at that particular yarn and wondering what the heck I was going to do with all of it (I have a lot of sweater quantities of yarn).  And did I really like that color anyway?  That’s what happened this week.  I sold a nice lady (with the same first name as me!) 10 balls of Ella Rae Silkience in “Silky Lime”.  That’s 1190 yds total!  And I still have 10 balls left for myself.  I like to think that worked out nicely :)  Lucky me!  Another week without purging angst!
 
On an unrelated, but no less important note, Knittymunchkin turned two today.  Wow.  When they tell you time flies and that you’ll notice it more when you have kids, they weren’t kidding. How did my baby get to be two years old?!  I’m having lots of flashbacks to all the time we spent in the hospital with him, how fragile he seemed, and how worried we were for him.  And now he’s a talking, running, jumping, laughing toddler, with no trace of that fragility left.  Today was low-key as R. Darling had to work this afternoon and evening.  Knittymunchkin and I read books and had our milk and coffee waiting for Daddy to wake up.  Then we opened presents, had cake (with disastrous results), a nap, and a visit with Grandma.  A pretty regular day.  Next year will be a completely different ball game I’m sure.  This is our last “holiday” where Knittymunchkin isn’t wholly aware of the gift-giving business and the fact that the world really does revolve around him.  I never really thought I wanted to be a mother but now that I have Knittymunchkin in my life, I know I do. I am so incredibly grateful that he is here and I have the privilege of being his mama.  I am one lucky girl!  Happy Birthday sweet Boy!
 

The Birthday Boy!

9 thoughts on “Thinning The Nest: Thursday Number 5

  1. Happy birthday to your little (or not-so-little-anymore!) Knittymunchkin!
    Hooray for this yarn going to someone who’ll love and use it – and yay for still having some to love and use yourself!

  2. Happy Birthday to your little one. Time sure does fly. It was yesterday that mine were that old and soon they will be 20 OMG. Cherish every minute.

  3. OMG he’s turning TWO?!?!?!! How long have I been reading your blog??? Weren’t you just pregnant? Oy time does go fast. and you still get flashbacks even when they’re teens. I was at the local Y for an event for Baby Girl but I kept getting flashbacks from when I took #1 Son for swimming lessons when he was 18 months old. He is now 13 yrs old Meanwhile there’s other stuff I forgot. Pictures help.

  4. At that time of the year, I think that green is so beautiful and I really look forward to spring! Happy belated birthday to your big boy! He looks so sweet! Have a great week!

  5. How very sweet!!!

    As far as large amounts of yarn, I’m looking forward to the day when I can buy a sweater’s worth and it be under a gross. :-)

Leave a Reply

