Thinning The Nest: Thursday Number 17

Week 17:  A couple dishes, some yarn from stash
 
I know, I’m a day late again.  No de-clutter drama this week to discuss, and no de-hoarding fireworks either.  I gave my mom a couple pyrex dishes with cracked rubber tops that we had replaced with new ones recently.  So it wasn’t exactly an exodus, considering I gave away two dishes and ended up with four new ones.  But at least I didn’t keep the old ones too!  I also took a glass frying pan (!) out of the cupboard to put into the Goodwill pile.  I’ve used it maybe six times in the past 10 years and R. Darling didn’t even know it existed until I showed it to him to make sure he didn’t want it before I chucked it.  Baby steps!
 
Onto more exciting things…..
 
I love my sandbox!
 
Here at Chez Funkytown we have a new obsession:  The Backyard.  Every morning now I wake to Knittymunchkin chanting Outside! Backyard! Outside!  It’s adorable, but here in the Pacific Northwest it stays cool in the mornings most of the year. Sometimes even downright cold when you’d least expect it.  Even the most scorching afternoon may be preceded by a dawn filled with frosty condensation pouring from your mouth as you chase an active 2 year old in the yard.  All I really want to do is curl up on the couch in my pjs with a hot cup of coffee. But like a good Mama, I try not to squelch his desire for fresh air and the great outdoors. This morning found me freezing my keester off in the early dawn as a bundled up Knittymunchkin careened around the yard and I tried not to shatter my teeth with all the shivering I was doing.  I managed to find a really old (we’re talking circa 1991) pair of fingerless gloves that my parents sent with me when I went off to college in Upstate New York.  I put them on and they were scratchy as all get out.  This would not suffice.  That means I need some good fingerless mitts to keep my digits toasty, but my fingers free to accept cups of sand “coffee” and plenty of “pretty flowers” (dandelions).
 
Berroco Ultra Alpaca in "Verdigris Mix"
 
I’ve never actually made myself a pair of fingerless gloves before.  I’ve made a bajillion (it seems) as gifts, but never any for myself.  I checked my queue and there were only three patterns in there, two of which I deep-sixed back to my favorites.  The only worthy pattern remaining was Commuter Fingerless Mittens from Knitty, First Fall 2011.  Good thing I have a ginormous stash to “shop” from!  I pulled out some Berroco Ultra Alpaca that had been gifted to me a few years back by my good friend Kathy (blog-free; the one I made the squares for here).  I am a few rows in and I am loving this yarn!  Where have you been all my life?  In my stash, actually.  Just waiting to be discovered. 
 
I forsee more of this in my future. Both the Ultra Alpaca and the frosty mornings outside…

6 thoughts on “Thinning The Nest: Thursday Number 17

  1. Ultra Alpaca is such a great yarn to work with, although I find that it works up closer to a light worsted. Great stuff though.

    Look at that cute Munchkin! He’s getting so big!

    Glad to hear that you are doing well.

  2. Yay for making your mornings-in-the-backyard more comfortable! Knittymunchkin looks so happy on that picture, I totally get how going out there with him despite the cold beats staying on the couch in your pajamas!

  3. Its amazing what we’ll do for our kids huh?? And isnt it great to shop from the stash?? No other shop is open early morning or late at night like our stashes!!!!

    He looks like he’s having a blast too. Before you know it he’ll be off to Kindergarten…..

  4. Love playing in the sandbox!!! So glad you’re making something for yourself and using Ultra Alpaca from MI! yay.

    I was decluttering today and thought of you. I am donating to Purple Heart a box of books and a bag of clothes–outgrown or rejected by my men folk. Little baby steps for me too.

    Oddly it is 85 here today so too hot to spend more than a few minutes in our attic.

    Can’t wait to see your fingerless gloves.

Leave a Reply

