Clumsy Gardener

 

ABOUT THE TITLE:  These were made for my Mom, who requested a pair of gloves to protect her hands from sun and scratches while gardening. As she has reached her 70’s, her skin has thinned and she is constantly cutting herself. Plus, she is a little bit clumsy sometimes!

PATTERN:  Don’t skid, honey! by Justyna Lorkowska (Lete’s Knits)

YARN:  Lily Sugar’n Cream Solids in “Softly Taupe” (Super Size )

YARDAGE:  0.58 skeins/116 yds (106.1 meters for Stash Dash 2015)

KNITTING DURATION:  June 23, 2015 – August 5, 2015

PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED:  Of course not!

RECIPIENT:  Mom

DODGY BITS:  Not really. Other than the fact that Mom, as per usual, has requested cotton or acrylic (something she can bleach the crap out of, i.e. abuse). And, as usual, I was miserable knitting this.

BLISS FACTOR:  8


This pattern was well written and fun to knit, though I would have preferred to knit it out of something soft and wooly and squishy instead of kitchen cotton on small needles. Seriously Mom? That’s the only reason I’m giving it a Bliss Factor of 8. It would probably earn a 10 if I could have knit it in something else. But all that really matters is if Mom likes and uses them.


Stash Dash Update: 1151.4 meters + 106.1 meters = 1257.5 meters

2 thoughts on “Clumsy Gardener

  1. As I read through the pattern details I thought, “oooh, Sugar & Cream cotton, that would kill my hands to knit.” You’re a better daughter than I am. Great job keeping up on your Stash Dash totals! I’m making a big push through to Friday when it ends.

    • Thanks Jess! I don’t know that I’m a better daughter, just desperate to make my mom something she’ll actually use & love ;) Well, I would have done better with Stash Dash if I’d done it properly (finishing old UFO’s), but I’m still happy with how much I did from stash. Thanks so much for mentioning it so I could participate too & congrats on your totals!!

Leave a Reply

