You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby

It was a year ago, this morning, that I stood in my bathrobe waiting.  Bare feet on the bathroom linoleum, I read the instructions one last time and set the timer.  Dimly, I heard my husband getting ready for work, moving back and forth in our bedroom on the other side of the wall.  I bit my lip.  What to think?  And then the timer went off.  I stopped it in a flash and picked up the little wand.  Staring back at me was a little blue “+”, the kind that some women crave and other women dread. Which was I?  I wasn’t sure, but took a breath and said, “Honey, our eggo is preggo!”, with a smile.  He jumped for joy.  And the rest is history.  So while this day is the celebration of the birth of our nation, for me there will always be another, more personal, reason to celebrate.

8 thoughts on “You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby

  1. How wonderful! And now you have a family, one of the most amazing blessings in the world!

    I can’t wait to share that joy as well. Still no little ‘+’ for us, but not for lack of trying. :-)

  2. Happy 4th of July! What a wonderful way to remember that moment. It really is a scary, amazing, wonderful feeling to see that double line or +.

  3. Love it!! July 4th was Josh’s half birthday–14 and a half. You will be amazed at how quickly you get to this point!

    Hug that little guy from me please. :-)

Leave a comment