Thankful!

tdayknitting112207

Sneaking in some Thanksgiving Day knitting – Nov. 22, 2007

Thinking about Thanksgiving, and feeling the urge to post something meaningful here, I cast about the mighty intraweb on Wednesday searching for something different than the usual memes about what my favorite Thanksgiving dish is (turkey or pie – it’s a tie), whether I have to travel to get to the celebration (a little), do I shop the day after (NO!), or what my favorite Thanksgiving tradition is (don’t really have any).  Of course I could post about the things that I’m thankful for, but they are so many and so widely similar to everyone else’s that I just didn’t feel inspired.  Let’s just say that I feel overall, extremely thankful for all that I have (or don’t have) and all the people that I care about (and hopefully, care about me too).  And I did spend a lot of time reflecting on that yesterday cozied up on the couch with R. Darling after the festivities. 

But, being as this is a blog and I’m a bloggy sort of peep now, I looked harder for something special and unique.  And I think I finally found it at Citizen of the Month*:

Thank Your First Commenter Day! 

What a lovely way to give back to the blogging community, and those people who keep you blogging day in and day out (because lord knows, I’d have quit a long freakin’ time ago if it wasn’t for all of you commenters – and you know who you are – who take the time to stop by and listen to my nonsense and share a piece of yourself). 

So a big Thanksgiving Thank You Shout Out goes to my very first commenter ever Robin M. of Yarn Crawl!  This is what she wrote on my post:

 

“Wow, what a nice story! I enjoyed reading it and I do believe in soulmates too.”

 

I can’t describe the feeling it gave me to find that comment waiting for me on what had been, until that February day, a commentless blog.  It was kinda like that time my junior year in high school when I got invited to this richy-rich-future-cheerleader girl’s 16th birthday party even though I was definitely a dork and definitely not in her usual crowd.  I didn’t know why she’d singled me out for an invite (well, I wasn’t exactly singled out – there must have been 75 people there), unless maybe she had a moment of pity for the nerd contigent, but for just a single precious moment I didn’t feel like such a loser.  So thank you Robin for the big invite to the knitting blogosphere!  I can never thank you enough for taking the time to leave that first comment and every comment you’ve left since then.  You’ll never know how much it meant; how much it means to me still. 

And thank you to everyone else who has taken the time to stop by here and share a thought or a laugh!  I get a warm and fuzzy feeling from each and every one of your comments.  You all mean a great deal to me and I hope that each of you had a wonderful Thanksgiving and have so much to be thankful for, from this year into the next!  Best wishes from me to you!

 

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

* Citizen of the Month is also hosting an online Arts and Crafts Fair!  Check it out – it looks cool!!

7 thoughts on “Thankful!

  1. What a cool thanksgiving idea. I tried to post Wednesday and yesterday but my computer has been randomly shutting down whenever it gets connected to the internet for too long.

    I hope to get something up tonight if it continues to be good.

  2. I love the story about Robin, you and the first comment. Made my heart warm up. I adore the piture of you in your knitting chair! So pretty! Happy Thanks Giving Sweetie, and I’m very greatful for having you as my blogging and not-only-blogging friend!

  3. Oh, that is so sweet!!! I never knew I was your first commenter. Thank you for the great story, and I’m also very thankful for your friendship. I love your blog too – it was no hardship to read and comment on it!

  4. Talk about a dedicated knitter… even during Thanksgiving! I hope you’re having a great holiday weekend. Thanks for sharing the commenting love! Do you have any work to try to sell as gifts next week?

Leave a comment